AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
t_mckenzie
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 1 of 4 (152 Views)

Upgrading from '09 to '13

152 Views, 3 Replies
02-01-2013 10:26 AM

FINALLY!

 

Our company is finally upgrading our software and getting us on C3D '13. I wanted to ask anyone who might remember, what kind of things will I need to address as far as our template file? I am sure there are new styles I will need to address.

 

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks,

-Tucker McKenzie

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 2 of 4 (133 Views)

Re: Upgrading from '09 to '13

02-01-2013 11:26 AM in reply to: t_mckenzie

I recommend against just opening your 2009 template in 2013 and saving that as your current template.

 

Instead open the basic 2013 OOB drawing and use the migrate styles tool to bring forward any styles already created.

 

then set all the ambient settings and layers.   Finally insert the old template as a block to bring in any blocks saved in the template file and any layers from the old template.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 3 of 4 (111 Views)

Re: Upgrading from '09 to '13

02-01-2013 01:48 PM in reply to: dgordon

Question (since I will soon face a similar situation (from 2011)):

 

If you just insert as a block in the first place, won't that bring all the styles too?  Or is there an advantage to using the tool you mention?

 

Also, you mention setting all the layers and ambient settings.  That will be time consuming.  What about the command default settings? I presume they all need to be set up again too.   Any suggestions on a better way to handle this?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 4 (101 Views)

Re: Upgrading from '09 to '13

02-01-2013 04:34 PM in reply to: troma

That import tool can be flakey for sure.  it doesn't do any object layers and I've seen it miss default settings.  I would hesitate to start from scratch and just copy styles.  i would open the 2009 file, save it as 2013, recover until there are no more errors and go from there.  Starting from scratch even with the available tools just leaves too much to chance in my opinion.

 

If you find the resulting file too flakey then start from scratch a second time, you haven't really wasted any time trying.

 

It may be a good idea to revuild your parts lists from scratch.  It's not crucial, but it may save some problems later on.  Upgrading is always an excuse to visit what's new and make new styles for the new objects.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!