AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,810
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 13 (429 Views)
Accepted Solution

Update Field isn't updating as expected

429 Views, 12 Replies
01-07-2013 12:58 AM

I have a field in a block and all the FIELDEVAL variables are set as shown in the screenshot but the field doesn't update on REGEN - I have to issue the UPDATEFIELD command to update the field.

 

There was a previous thread started in March 2011 with the same problem - is this another unresolved bug??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610

It seems that this behaviour is indeed as intended - from Help

 

"...The Date field is updated by UPDATEFIELD, but it is not updated automatically based on the setting of the FIELDEVAL system variable..."

 

I only need to bother with this field update every January but another example of inconsistency in the workings of Civil 3D...??

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,099
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 13 (424 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:08 AM in reply to: neilyj

Hi,

 

>> but the field doesn't update on REGEN

What field-type is it? If it's a save-date/time or plot-date/time then it would/should not update with a _REGEN.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,810
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 13 (420 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:15 AM in reply to: neilyj

That was my initial thought but It's just a simple DATE field

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,099
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 13 (415 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:23 AM in reply to: neilyj

Hi,

 

and how did you get it now to "2013"? Have you defined it new or saved or what happend? In the last screenshot it was 2012.

If you have the old drawing, can you delete all but this block and upload it so we can play with trying to update it (I can test it with Civil3D, Map3D, AutoCAD all 2013 if necessary).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,810
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 13 (416 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:25 AM in reply to: neilyj

I issued the UPDATEFIELD command and selected the block

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,099
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 13 (410 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:38 AM in reply to: neilyj

Hi,

 

OK, I tried it in a new drawing and ... yes, same issue, a _REGEN does not update that "DATE" field (not with Civil3D 2013 SP1, not with AutoCAD 2013 SP1.1).

That brings me to the question: what does the field "DATE" represent, if it's not a save-time and not a plot-time ==> whatfor is it needed or whatfor is it designed?In the help I have not found it.

 

For me: now I know why I have not had that problem yet: because I never used it; I used SAVEDATE or PLOTDATE and they work without any issues (yet).

 

But sorry to have no solution for you, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,810
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 13 (404 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 01:48 AM in reply to: neilyj

Indeed - as it doesn't seem to update on open or save either - only manually after UPDATEFIELD.

 

I have raised a support case and will post the response when (if) I get one

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 8 of 13 (373 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 07:57 AM in reply to: neilyj

I'm guessing this is functioning as intended? As opposed to editing the date, issuing updatefield populates it with the current date.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,810
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 13 (370 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 08:05 AM in reply to: ericcollins6932

It seems that this behaviour is indeed as intended - from Help

 

"...The Date field is updated by UPDATEFIELD, but it is not updated automatically based on the setting of the FIELDEVAL system variable..."

 

I only need to bother with this field update every January but another example of inconsistency in the workings of Civil 3D...??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 10 of 13 (363 Views)

Re: Update Field isn't updating as expected

01-07-2013 08:49 AM in reply to: neilyj

Ever use a diesel expression for date? See forum posting attached. It might be a serviceable workaround.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-LT/Inster-a-field-to-show-the-current-date/td-p/3356011/page/2

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.