AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
bcales
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-11-2005
Message 1 of 11 (2,632 Views)

Undo has been disabled...

2632 Views, 10 Replies
05-09-2012 01:07 PM

Undo has been disabled in order to prevent undo file overflow...

 

Is there anyway to increase the Undo capabilities.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,745
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 11 (2,609 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

05-09-2012 05:17 PM in reply to: bcales
I've never seen this. How about saving and closing the drawing and reopening it?
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,095
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 3 of 11 (2,604 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

05-09-2012 06:53 PM in reply to: mathewk

I've seen it fairly often, especially while doing a lot of corridor section edits.  I think that there's a way to turn off the undo function and then turn it back on again.  When you do that the program apparently starts a new file.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,300
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 11 (2,596 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

05-09-2012 08:42 PM in reply to: sboon

SBoon wrote:

... I think that there's a way to turn off the undo function and then turn it back on again. ...



Undo, Control, None or One

Undo, Control, All

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
oceanside
Posts: 388
Registered: ‎08-03-2006
Message 5 of 11 (2,196 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

01-09-2013 01:17 PM in reply to: bcales

I have done this so many.....times today.  It doesn't work.  Software is Civil 3D 2013.  A couple of computers have the message "Warning! Undo has been disabled in order to prevent undo file overflow.  You may re-enable it via the undo command.  The undo file length was 1768915703 bytes".  I've been using the UNDO command since Release '08 & I've never seen this problem.  I have search & search & nothing seems to work....how do you control the length of the UNDO command.  I don't understand how UNDOCTL works cause it's read only.  Does anyone have a solution?

the best is at the beach!
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,095
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 6 of 11 (2,192 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

01-09-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: oceanside

Save - Shutdown - Restart the program.

Contributor
clevelandw
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-15-2007
Message 7 of 11 (1,137 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

10-01-2013 09:51 AM in reply to: sboon
C'mon "Experts" stop just telling everyone to "Save and Restart" Obviously, there is an issue that needs to be resolved. Put that "Expert" title to use.. Geez!
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,303
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 11 (1,132 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

10-01-2013 09:56 AM in reply to: clevelandw

clevelandw wrote:
C'mon "Experts" stop just telling everyone to "Save and Restart" Obviously, there is an issue that needs to be resolved. Put that "Expert" title to use.. Geez!

In their defense, I would say that the suggestions offered are the best known workaround(s). 

These guys are peers using the software like all of us, and do not have a hotline to the programmers / software architects.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,745
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 9 of 11 (1,124 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

10-01-2013 10:01 AM in reply to: clevelandw

Thanks for the "constructive" criticism, clevelandw, but I don't see any usable advice from you at all on this issue.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,300
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 10 of 11 (1,118 Views)

Re: Undo has been disabled...

10-01-2013 10:10 AM in reply to: oceanside

For C3D2013 & 2014, perhaps THIS has something to do with the UNDO file filling up.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.