AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,856
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 4 (119 Views)

Undo File Message

119 Views, 3 Replies
10-28-2013 09:07 AM

Been getting2013-10-28 16_04_44-AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014.jpg this message a lot today; never seen it before and no idea what it means - any clues?

 

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,642
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 4 (92 Views)

Re: Undo File Message

10-28-2013 05:40 PM in reply to: neilyj

Are you running low on drive space? If you have Undo Control set to All, then AutoCAD is writing everything you do to a file, stored in the Temporary Drawing File Location, a setting you control through Options (Files tab.) On a default install, this is C:\Users\<<UserName>>\appdata\local\temp\.

 

One action that is likely to solve your issue is to close AutoCAD and then delete the contents of your Temp folder. Run AutoCAD again. Don't worry if the system can't delete some files, just bypass them.

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,642
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 3 of 4 (91 Views)

Re: Undo File Message

10-28-2013 05:42 PM in reply to: tcorey

I forgot to tell you: Be sure to turn Undo back on. Undo command, Control setting, All setting.

 

What that message means is that AutoCAD automatically set Undo to None, which means you have no Undo ability until you turn it back on.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,856
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 4 (77 Views)

Re: Undo File Message

10-29-2013 12:52 AM in reply to: tcorey
Thanks Tim - I have 85Gb free on my SSD...I'll see if I get the message again during today...
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.