Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Undergrad CEE Student_Basic Q/A for Civil3D

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
mvpham2
407 Views, 4 Replies

Undergrad CEE Student_Basic Q/A for Civil3D

Hello,

I am a undergraduate student studying civil engineering who wants to get a grip on Civil3D over winter break.

I just installed the student version of Civil3D into my computer.

My computer is desktop/gaming computer rather than a workstation.

My computer specs is as follows:

AMD FX-8320 Vishera 3.5GHz

ASRock 970 EXTREME3 AMD 970

8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

ATI Radeon HD 5770

Civil3D takes while to boot up.  I assume it is because my computer has insufficient memory.

I understand that workstations perform better and are more reliable for Civil 3D whereas desktop are more error-prone.

I also enjoy working with blender, photoshop, and 3ds max in my free time.

As student, workstation components are quite pricey for my budget.

Should I invest in a workstation video card or even a workstation altogether for present and future use or is a desktop enough for invidividual educational use?

In a career standpoint, is an understanding Civil 3D a major plus for future interviewers?  

Is there a Microstation student version?

I notice that Microstation/GeoPAK are far more prevalent in the industry ranging from IDOT to consulting firms. 

Which is Civil3D a product replica of Microstation?

Many thanks in advance!

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
KirkNoonan
in reply to: mvpham2