AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
chitturipraveen
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Message 1 of 9 (2,267 Views)
Accepted Solution

Unable to open file explorer window when select open or save from file menu

2267 Views, 8 Replies
03-01-2011 10:18 PM

I have autocad civil 3d 2008 in my pc. From last 2 days I got a different problem i.e. when I am selecting open / save command from File menu graphical file select explorer is not opening just message in the command window . Previously I used to select files using graphical file explorer.

 

Any body please help me on this one.

 

 

 

Hi all, I got it by entering FILEDIA = 1 .

 

Thak you all.

Member
chitturipraveen
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Message 2 of 9 (2,262 Views)

Re: Unable to open file explorer window when select open or save from file menu

03-02-2011 12:25 AM in reply to: chitturipraveen

Hi all, I got it by entering FILEDIA = 1 .

 

Thak you all.

Active Member
learner12345
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Message 3 of 9 (1,968 Views)

Re: Unable to open file explorer window when select open or save from file menu

10-31-2011 10:56 AM in reply to: chitturipraveen

Thank you for this post

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 9 (1,962 Views)

Re: Unable to open file explorer window when select open or save from file menu

10-31-2011 12:53 PM in reply to: chitturipraveen

If you get to the point where it's asking you for the file path and you realize you need to reset FILEDIA but you don't want to have to cancel the command. Enter a Tilde [~]. That will bring up the file dialog box temporarily and let you complete the command.

 

Allen

New Member
TIMKENNEDY
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-17-2008
Message 5 of 9 (1,224 Views)

Re: Unable to open file explorer window when select open or save from file menu

05-10-2013 05:39 AM in reply to: chitturipraveen

Sooo thankful to find this post! I was pulling out the little bit of hair I have left, trying to figure out hoe to fix this issue.

Active Member
bcitrowske
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-22-2013
Message 6 of 9 (1,038 Views)

Re: Unable to open file explorer window when select open or save from file menu

09-11-2013 12:43 PM in reply to: chitturipraveen

i want to know how i keeps changing on me??? this is the 3rd time i have had to look for this posted fix.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 9 (1,035 Views)

Re: Unable to open file explorer window when select open or save from file menu

09-11-2013 12:46 PM in reply to: bcitrowske

Can't answer that - But if you add these lines to [or create the file in your search path] Acaddoc.lsp. It should help.

 

(SETVAR "CMDDIA" 1)
(SETVAR "FILEDIA" 1)

 

Allen Jessup

New Member
mojo12345
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-06-2014
Message 8 of 9 (266 Views)

Re: Unable to open file explorer window when select open or save from file menu

08-06-2014 06:46 AM in reply to: chitturipraveen

Thank you for this post - I had the same problem.   I am grateful.



 

 


 

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,918
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 9 of 9 (260 Views)

Re: Unable to open file explorer window when select open or save from file menu

08-06-2014 07:47 AM in reply to: bcitrowske

Some routines within Civil 3D change parameters, particulary the filedia, and if the program crashes the routine cannot change it back to the way it was.

 

Bill

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!