AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Pro
fcernst
Posts: 1,170
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 1 of 8 (354 Views)

Unable to Import STM file into Civil 3D

354 Views, 7 Replies
11-30-2012 02:09 PM

I executed Edit in Storm Sewers to work on the Pipe Network in Civil 3D. I made some changes in Storm Sewers, now I want to Import back to Civil 3D.

 

Nothing is happening in Civil 3D when I try to Import with either of the choices, picking Overwrite or to Create a new pipe network. I am not sure what I am doing wrong.

 

I have attached the drawing file and the STM file.

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 8 (353 Views)

Re: Unable to Import STM file into Civil 3D

11-30-2012 02:22 PM in reply to: fcernst

Fred, I don't know what's wrong with that drawing file, but I can create a new drawing and import your STM just fine. I cannot import into the drawing you attached.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Pro
fcernst
Posts: 1,170
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 3 of 8 (349 Views)

Re: Unable to Import STM file into Civil 3D

11-30-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: fcernst

Thank you Tim.

 

You said new file...So with 2013 SP1, in your other drawings, can you send out a network to Storm Sewers, make changes, and bring it back into Civil 3D to update the network in the existing drawing just fine?

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 4 of 8 (342 Views)

Re: Unable to Import STM file into Civil 3D

11-30-2012 02:58 PM in reply to: fcernst

Hi Fred,

 

Using other drawings, I can export to STM, modify in Storm Sewers, save STM, import STM back into the same c3d drawing, modifying the existing network.

 

Using the drawing you attached with the STM you attached, I could not insert into the dwg, but I could insert your STM into a new dwg.

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Pro
fcernst
Posts: 1,170
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 5 of 8 (340 Views)

Re: Unable to Import STM file into Civil 3D

11-30-2012 03:02 PM in reply to: tcorey

Thanks, and that's 2013 SP1?

 

I could import that file into a new drawing as you mention, just can't get it back into the original drawing as you mention.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 6 of 8 (334 Views)

Re: Unable to Import STM file into Civil 3D

11-30-2012 03:16 PM in reply to: fcernst

Yes, 2013 with SP1.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
jim
New Member
jim
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2012
Message 7 of 8 (313 Views)

Re: Unable to Import STM file into Civil 3D

12-03-2012 07:12 AM in reply to: fcernst

We are having the same problem trying to re-import an STM file back into our original drawing to overwrite the pipe network.  It doesn't work.  Did anyone ever come up with a fix or work-around for this?  We are on C3D 2013 with all SP's updated.

 

Thanks,

Meredith Hammill

Latham-Walters Engineering

C3D SP1

Windows 7 SP1

Dell Intel Xeon CPU E31225 @ 3.10 GHz

64-bit 16G Ram

New Member
mohsen.zare
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2014
Message 8 of 8 (158 Views)

Re: Unable to Import STM file into Civil 3D

01-08-2014 06:54 AM in reply to: jim

I still have same problem, however my colleague was able to solve the importing problem. What needs to be done is to make sure that the correct "Parts List" is chosen as for "Parts List Used for Migration". You can edit this feature in "Settings" tab in your toolspace by right clicking on the Pipe Network and choosing to edit the features.

 

This did solve the importing problem for me but the imported network had a shape nothing like what it was supposed to look like.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.