AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,942
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 1 of 7 (343 Views)

Unable to add Part Families or sizes

343 Views, 6 Replies
09-02-2011 06:06 AM

I don't work with Pipe Networks much and I'm a little tired as many in the northeast are. But I can't figure this out. Yesterday I added a rectangular junction structure to the pipe network. I had to add that particular size to the list but no big deal. This morning there are no rectangular junction structures in the list. 

I'm using the Standard Style. When I try to add the "Rectangular Structure Slab Top Rectangular Frame SI" parts family to the list I get this Error: 

 

MSC.PNG

 

 I've checked the parts catalog.

 

PNC.PNG

 

 I tried opening the Parts Builder and verifying the Parts Family and got this result:

 

PST.PNG

 

 But even after validation and saving I still get the error.

 

As always any help is appreciated.

Allen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,872
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (340 Views)

Re: Unable to add Part Families or sizes

09-02-2011 06:20 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Hey Allen,

 

Never seen that before but I would wonder if you are ttrying edit the metric catalog when the imperial catalog is the 'current' catalog.

 

See if SetNetworkCatalog shows the metric catalog as the current catalog. If not set it current or edit the imperial parts.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,942
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 7 (338 Views)

Re: Unable to add Part Families or sizes

09-02-2011 06:34 AM in reply to: jmayo

Hey John,

 

If you look at the second image in my post it shows the result of SetNetworkCatalog.

 

How'd Irene treat you? Personally I'm fine but some of the County is kind of a mess.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,942
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 7 (332 Views)

Re: Unable to add Part Families or sizes

09-02-2011 06:48 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

I've also replaced the AeccPartParamCfg.xml file with the original from the installation with no results.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,872
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 7 (323 Views)

Re: Unable to add Part Families or sizes

09-02-2011 07:26 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

We were lucky. Some flooding and lots of power outages but it is minor compared to the rest of the storm path.

 

Grasping at straws.. Did you regen the catalog after adding the new stc? Partcatalogregen.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,942
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 7 (320 Views)

Re: Unable to add Part Families or sizes

09-02-2011 07:42 AM in reply to: jmayo

Good thought but it didn't help. Same error. It says the Metric Structure Catalog isn't set. But it is. I've drilled down in the folders and the parts are there and match the original install.

 

Thanks

Allen

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,942
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 7 (307 Views)

Re: Unable to add Part Families or sizes

09-02-2011 10:26 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Another piece of the puzzle. Everything seems to be there. But I can't add it.

 

Nope. I now see Error: Part Type parameter not validated. Now what causes that?

 

Allen

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.