AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
n2itive
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-15-2003
Message 1 of 19 (756 Views)
Accepted Solution

Umm, I thought jumping to 64 Bit & 8 gigs would result in increased performance?

756 Views, 18 Replies
05-30-2012 01:31 PM

So, as of yesterday I finally convinced the powers to be that I needed windows 7 - 64 bit with more ram, they gave me 8 GB. I've since spent the entire day trying to get the 3d object viewer to function as well as it did prior this upgrade (or so I though it was an upgrade). I am also noticing that corridor editing is become a painful situation as well. I work for a local municipality so we're not talking about miles and miles of roadway. This was all working pretty well using 32 bit and 4 gb of ram last week. Now, the object viewer is useless and it's taking what feels like forever to update my corridor.

 

So far I have downloaded the most recent driver for my cheap graphics card, turned hardware accelerate on & off, played with model view display styles, double checked I have all updates installed, turned off my properties palette, turned off my layers manager, searched the forums for hours and in the end I'm ready to ask for my old pc back.

 

Any other suggestions on how to speed up C3D 2012, specifically regarding the object viewer and corridor building?

 

Here are my new specs: W7-64 bit, 8 GB ram, Dell optiplex 990 with i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz, and a AMD Radeon HD 6450 graphics card.

 

 

Infrastructure Design Suite 2014
Civil 3D 2013 sp2
Windows 7 x 64, 16 GB
Intel Xeon @ 2.80 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K2000

I would almost bet that your problems are related to the video driver installed on your new system.  I have recently upgraded from Vista 32 to a Win 7-64 system.  I had a lot of trouble with display flickering, hangs and crashes until I located the certified driver on the Nvidia site to replace the one supplied by Dell.

 

Edit: After reading your specs, we have almost exactly the same system except that ours have NVidia Quadro 600 cards.

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 2 of 19 (751 Views)

Re: Umm, I thought jumping to 64 Bit & 8 gigs would result in increased perf

05-30-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: n2itive

there are a number of threads on this (I think from "Patchy"?) that suggest things like tourning off the Windows Aero theme, changing the system paging file from dynamic to static at 2x your installed RAM.  Do a search and you should find several suggestions.


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Valued Contributor blt
Valued Contributor
blt
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 3 of 19 (747 Views)

Re: Umm, I thought jumping to 64 Bit & 8 gigs would result in increased perf

05-30-2012 01:38 PM in reply to: n2itive

You did install the 64 bit version of C3D?

 

 

Bryan Thorp
Civil 3D 2013 SP1
Dell T3500 Workstation
Intel Xeon E5630 @ 2.53 GHz
12 Gig of RAM
Nvidia Quadro FX3800
Window 7 x 64bit OS
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,966
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 19 (700 Views)

Re: Umm, I thought jumping to 64 Bit & 8 gigs would result in increased perf

05-30-2012 07:35 PM in reply to: n2itive

This is a common misconception that "I got 64 bit - I should be lightning fast"... Not!

 

64 bit allows you to access more ram, the quality and speed of the other components and your system setting have a lot to do with it.

 

Its kinda  like getting a 100 gallon gas tank, the car wont go any faster, but does have increased capacity.

 

My first suggestion is turn off all the fancy win7 animation font rounding, yada yada. In computer properties

Then make sure HPQUICKPREVIEW is set to off

And if you are using Sheet Set Manager make sure SSMSHEETSTATUS is set to 1

 

I bet doing those 3 things helps some.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,385
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 5 of 19 (697 Views)

Re: Umm, I thought jumping to 64 Bit & 8 gigs would result in increased perf

05-30-2012 07:59 PM in reply to: n2itive

Did you install the VBA enabler? If so, uninstall it, if not, good. VBA is a 32 bit program so when it is used in 64bit Autocad it tends to bog down the whole system. If you have a need for it then I suggest porting those routines to .NET.

 

The biggest benefit of 64 bit C3D is the drastic reduction in the number of crashes you will encounter. How fast it runs is still largely dependent on your hardware and what else you have running at the same time.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 6 of 19 (693 Views)

Re: Umm, I thought jumping to 64 Bit & 8 gigs would result in increased perf

05-30-2012 08:21 PM in reply to: n2itive
I don't know anything about your video card but you said it's cheap. The graphics card gets hit heavily with the object viewer. How good was the old one in comparison?

Another thing about RAM and 64 bit. What you had before, 32 bit on 4Gb is the same as 64 bit with 8Gb if yoi look at the specs for C3D. Of course, if your projects aren't large you're not maxing the RAM anyway.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Distinguished Contributor
n2itive
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-15-2003
Message 7 of 19 (652 Views)

Re: Umm, I thought jumping to 64 Bit & 8 gigs would result in increased perf

05-31-2012 06:09 AM in reply to: mathewk

Thanks for the responses and suggestions. I'll give them all a go. My new pc has the same specs as the old one other than 64 bit and double the ram, same graphics card so I wasn't expecting it to be lightening fast but I was expecting some type of improvement. Besides the "stock" graphics card I would say I have a fairly decent setup. I surely wasn't expecting things to get worse.

 

I am hoping I see a reduction in the "not responding" time as you've mentioned above. That alone would probably keep me happy.

 

Thanks again.

 

Infrastructure Design Suite 2014
Civil 3D 2013 sp2
Windows 7 x 64, 16 GB
Intel Xeon @ 2.80 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K2000
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 742
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 8 of 19 (649 Views)

Re: Umm, I thought jumping to 64 Bit & 8 gigs would result in increased perf

05-31-2012 06:24 AM in reply to: mathewk

mathewk wrote:
I don't know anything about your video card but you said it's cheap. The graphics card gets hit heavily with the object viewer. How good was the old one in comparison?

Another thing about RAM and 64 bit. What you had before, 32 bit on 4Gb is the same as 64 bit with 8Gb if yoi look at the specs for C3D. Of course, if your projects aren't large you're not maxing the RAM anyway.

Windows 32bit only can allow at max 4GB of memory per application.  Since 4GB is the max physical RAM that a 32 bit OS can use, the OS takes up roughly 1 to 1.5 GB of that 4GB.  You're left with 2.5GB to 3GB to be shared with every other program running.  Your virtual memory comes into play because of this.  Remember, though, that 4GB is the maximum that any 32 bit application can use distributed between physical and virtual memory. 

 

With 64 bit, there is virtualy no limit (It's like 128 terrabytes or something) to the amount of memory an application can use.  Even if you only have 4GB of phyiscal RAM on a 64 bit OS, as long as you have enough space on your virtual memory drive, you're basically unlimited.  Of course, virtual memory is much slower than physical RAM, so the more RAM the better.  I've had large and complex corridors with 328mb aerial photos and C3D only takes up about 1.8GB of memory.  

 

As to the OP, it sounds like a graphics driver problem regarding the object viewer.  I've never had good things to say for ATI cards in regards to Autodesk products.  Autodesk basically makes their software to work with Nvidia, even though they don't really state that.  Also, your storage drive has a lot to do with how well programs and Windows in general work.  I've got a solid state drive for my system drive and it makes C3D work extremely fast.  

 

I also work for a local government, so I understand your frustration with getting hardware.  However, don't let the IT department dictate what you need.  Your job is to design and/or produce civil engineering drawings.  Their job is to provide you the means to do that and keep it running.  If they're preventing you from getting the hardware you need to do your job, then they've failed at their job.

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Distinguished Contributor
n2itive
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-15-2003
Message 9 of 19 (590 Views)

Re: Umm, I thought jumping to 64 Bit & 8 gigs would result in increased perf

06-01-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: engrtech

So, after a couple days of testing I am really getting frustrated with this object viewer issue. I tend to use it quite often and for now it seems to be the main issue. I really don't understand how things could get worse by switching to 64 bit. I can open the same dwg on another workstation with the exact same specs, only running on 32 bit, and pan, zoom, rotate at will like I was accustom to. Once I do this using my new setup things are dreadfully slow, and my corridor turns into a cube when orbiting... From what I can tell all the 3d config settings are the same.  For me, it's these types of issues that really just irritate me.

 

Does anyone have alternative suggestions as to viewing corridor models and surfaces WITHOUT PURCHASING ADDITIONAL SOFTWARE? What other options are out there? How would I know if a better graphics  card would really make a difference considering the other work stations have the same or even older card than me yet they seem to be performing better than mine? My last question, since I would most likely purchase a new card on my own, would the Quadro 600 be better than the Readon HD6450 I currently have? Or is there any card similar in price ($150) that you would recommend? In the end I'm ok with using my own $150 if it makes my job less of a headache.

 

Thanks engrtech for some insight as well. I completely agree with your last statement and was wondering if I can use this as a supporting  document to my request? :smileywink: I am still fairly new to this public sector animal that doesn't always seem to rely on common sense IMHO. It seems I'm always having to jump threw loops (or spend a year complaining) in order to get the point across. However on the other hand, considering how people are dropping off like flies around here, I'm somewhat content with not causing too much of a stir and just keeping my mouth shut.

 

Again thanks for all the comments and for letting me vent a little... I feel better now!

Infrastructure Design Suite 2014
Civil 3D 2013 sp2
Windows 7 x 64, 16 GB
Intel Xeon @ 2.80 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K2000
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 10 of 19 (587 Views)

Re: Umm, I thought jumping to 64 Bit & 8 gigs would result in increased perf

06-01-2012 08:27 AM in reply to: n2itive

I'm still on 2011 for the most part, so I'm not used to the "current" CUI, but....

 

There should be a 3D drafting workspace - not Civil, but 'basic' autocad 3D for solids.  There are different settings for rendering - conceptual, realistic, 2D wireframe 3D wireframe and a few others.  try going there and changing the visuailzation settings next is my next thought on this... sorry I don't have any other tricks without seeing your workstation.....


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.