AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
SeattleC3D
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 1 of 8 (328 Views)

Tunnel Scan surveying deliverables

328 Views, 7 Replies
02-03-2014 09:01 AM

Hello,

 

We are going to hire a Survey company to do a lazer scanning for our tunnel. What i have in mind for the deliverables are:

1) Point clouds for the whole tunnel

2) Civil 3D TIN surfaces for every 500 feet.

 

Any suggestions or experiences from you? Please give me your advices

 

Thanks,

Dennis 

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,859
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 8 (320 Views)

Re: Tunnel Scan surveying deliverables

02-03-2014 09:31 AM in reply to: SeattleC3D

If you are going to have a point cloud on the inside of a tunnel, Civil 3D is not for you.  Civil 3D cannot handle points that represents a single surface, like one above another.  I.E., you cannot have points that are directly above one another.  

 

Bill

 

 

Active Contributor
SeattleC3D
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 3 of 8 (306 Views)

Re: Tunnel Scan surveying deliverables

02-03-2014 10:51 AM in reply to: SeattleC3D

I have thought about this already? Since C3D can not handle vertical points to generate the surfaces. I will ask them to cut the tunnel into 2 separate sections, top and bottom or left and right tunnels, then rotate them horizontally and generate a tin with horizontal points. When putting the tunnel together, they must rotate back to proper angles.... i am not sure what or how to do this just yet?

 

Any other suggestions? experiences?

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 8 (284 Views)

Re: Tunnel Scan surveying deliverables

02-03-2014 08:20 PM in reply to: SeattleC3D

What does the cross section of the tunnel look like?  Round pipe, arch, box, other?  Are you expecting fairly smooth regular walls or very rough irregular sections?

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Valued Contributor
HansSMS
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
Message 5 of 8 (279 Views)

Re: Tunnel Scan surveying deliverables

02-03-2014 09:07 PM in reply to: SeattleC3D

I had a subcontractor do a laser scan of a 800m section of tunnel, he deliverd a plain AutoCAD mesh. This was really useful for collision detection for a conveyor design, this is what we wanted the scan for. How he produced it I unfortunately can't tell you. Probably used his scanning software. Sorry, not a big help, but it may point you in the right direction.

Hans Moller
Surveying & Management Services
Gladstone Australia
Clevo Metabox 16GB, Intel i7-3720QM 3.1Ghz, 256GB SSD, Nvidia GTX 680M
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 742
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 6 of 8 (249 Views)

Re: Tunnel Scan surveying deliverables

02-04-2014 07:38 AM in reply to: SeattleC3D

This sounds more like something for Revit to do than Civil 3D. Do you have IDSP or IDSS?

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Active Member
DEVR3965
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-23-2009
Message 7 of 8 (234 Views)

Re: Tunnel Scan surveying deliverables

02-04-2014 12:00 PM in reply to: SeattleC3D

We have just released a beta version this month – VRMesh Triangulation for AutoCAD 2014. It is easy to convert large point cloud into mesh (one click solution) in AutoCAD Civil 3D (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1hDB6SUjZU) and then generate cross-section curves.

 

There is a video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ll2miw9y5Q) to show how to calculate the cross sectional area of a mine tunnel. Pleae feel free to contact us if help is needed. 

Distinguished Contributor
nilesh33
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Message 8 of 8 (206 Views)

Re: Tunnel Scan surveying deliverables

02-05-2014 04:38 AM in reply to: SeattleC3D

Hi,

 

Since, principle of triangulation in civil 3d does not allow to have two or more points with same X,Y with different elevation. 

 

Also with this principle, triangulation is between nearest X,Y co-ordinates. For wall triangulation, we need to trianualte between 'nearest elevation'.

 

So, rotating surfaces or point in different plane will not work. 

 

for what purpose you want this surface in Civil 3d? Other wise you can try autocad mesh.

Regards,
Nilesh J
Civil 3D 2012, SAC
16 GB Ram 64 Bit Win7
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.