Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble with coordinates on manually added points.

16 REPLIES 16
Message 1 of 17
kris_cheeseman
1653 Views, 16 Replies

Trouble with coordinates on manually added points.

OK, to start with I am fairly new to Civil 3D.  I have a drawing I want to add points for export to RTK for stakeout.  When I open the drawing it appears to be coordinated to the proper projection according to control monuments in the area.  The cursor coordinates are correct when I pan around the drawing, and points and lines slected from the original drawing display proper coordinates for the area.

I have manually created points in the drawing and the values on these points are way off.  I know it has something to do with the projection settings or UCS settings but I am not sure where I am going wrong.  I have tried setting the drawing to the proper projection then adding points but it still gives me insane values on them tthat make no sense to me.

What I would like to do is set the drawing up so I can pick a point on the screen manually and have it display the same coordinates as the original drawing so I can then export them as a .txt file to Trimble RTK.

I have attached the drawing, points 1-33 in the only point group were the points added by myself.

Any direction would be appreciated, I feel like I am on the right track but missing something fairly simple in all the menus and settings.

Cheers,

Kris

Tags (2)
16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17

As far as I know the coordinate system the drawing is in is Nova Scotia ATS '77 Zone 5.  This is the coordinates the local monuments are published in and matches the X-Y values in the drawing.

Message 3 of 17
enpope
in reply to: kris_cheeseman

At the command line.... set your UCS to World

Message 4 of 17