AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,964
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 9 (210 Views)

trouble exporting to plain autocad

210 Views, 8 Replies
06-28-2012 02:46 PM

If I audit or recover this file I get no errors, but if I try to export or batch and explode aec object I get error...try recover and no file gets created. Any suggestions?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,598
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 9 (202 Views)

Re: trouble exporting to plain autocad

06-28-2012 04:36 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Hi Joe,

 

Can you Exportotautocadr12dxf? I usually go to this format as a standby when nothing else works. Maybe it will work for you.

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,964
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 9 (190 Views)

Re: trouble exporting to plain autocad

06-28-2012 07:03 PM in reply to: tcorey

Hi Tim

 

Thanks, that should work, I'll give it a go in the morning

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
cfiorica
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-18-2009
Message 4 of 9 (182 Views)

Re: trouble exporting to plain autocad

06-28-2012 10:41 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

This happens to me too.  I do not want a DXF file, I would like to export to AutoCAD like it's supposed to.

 

 

Carl M. Fiorica, P.E., LEED A.P.
Burkett and Wong Engineers
3434 4th Ave
San Diego, CA 92103
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,789
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 9 (176 Views)

Re: trouble exporting to plain autocad

06-29-2012 02:31 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I've had issues when XREF's are in the drawing.

 

I do a SAVEAS, BIND the Xrefs and EXPORT then CLOSE the drawing without Saving - seems to work

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,964
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 9 (168 Views)

Re: trouble exporting to plain autocad

06-29-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: neilyj

I'm still having trouble, I don't have xrefs but do have datalinks that cannot be bound, detached  or unloaded? I thimks I PDF is my only option

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,789
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 9 (157 Views)

Re: trouble exporting to plain autocad

06-29-2012 06:51 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

What about DWF ??

 

If you are wanting to use as an underlay, I have had much better results with a DWF rather than a pdf

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,871
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 9 (153 Views)

Re: trouble exporting to plain autocad

06-29-2012 07:36 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I agree with that Neil. Popping a pdf into a dwg is the best way I know to make AutoCAD slow to a crawl.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,964
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 9 (148 Views)

Re: trouble exporting to plain autocad

06-29-2012 08:48 AM in reply to: jmayo

Dwf, PDF, it make no diff to me I'm sending the drawing out.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.