AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
sfore
Posts: 392
Registered: ‎08-27-2007
Message 1 of 8 (665 Views)
Accepted Solution

trimming shape files

665 Views, 7 Replies
10-21-2011 10:52 AM

I'm using C3D 2010.  I'm dragging and dropping a bunch of shape files into my drawing.  Some of the shape files are huge in size and area.  Is there a way to trim the shape file to just my project area?  If so, will I still be able to edit the style thru mapwspace?

Mentor
sfore
Posts: 392
Registered: ‎08-27-2007
Message 2 of 8 (658 Views)

Re: trimming shape files

10-21-2011 11:27 AM in reply to: sfore

Just to add to previous post.....I can bring in shape files thru mapimport and toggle import polygons as closed polylines and simply use trim command to cut down to project area, but the map data isn't attached this way and it doesn't show up in mapwspace. 

Active Contributor
marcross
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎06-01-2009
Message 3 of 8 (645 Views)

Re: trimming shape files

10-21-2011 11:53 AM in reply to: sfore

When you connect the shp file data into Map, it will create a ‘layer’ under Display Manager, you can right click on that layer and select Query to Filter Data, the Modify Query dialog box opened, under Locate on Map icon, select Polygon (or other method you prefer), it will prompted you for Create or Select and boundary, select Create and draw the boundary for your project area, after the boundary created, simply hit OK to exit the Modify Query dialog box, and it should give you only the trim area.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,963
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 8 (644 Views)

Re: trimming shape files

10-21-2011 11:56 AM in reply to: sfore

Hi,

 

when you reference your shape-files with FDO you can activate a filter, e.g. a polygonal filter that describes what objects have to be displayed and what should be left out.

I have no english Map, so please look to my video and try to get the workflow reproduced, the locations of the buttons is the same.

One more info: in my video I use Map3D 2012, if you have an older version you can't filter multiple GIS-layer in one step, you will have to repeat the filtering layer-by-layer.

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
sfore
Posts: 392
Registered: ‎08-27-2007
Message 5 of 8 (635 Views)

Re: trimming shape files

10-21-2011 12:36 PM in reply to: marcross

thanks so much.  worked great!

 

Shawn

Mentor
sfore
Posts: 392
Registered: ‎08-27-2007
Message 6 of 8 (629 Views)

Re: trimming shape files

10-21-2011 01:45 PM in reply to: marcross

ran into a problem.  when i perform the filter on my contour shp file and select my boundary box to trim from, a bunch of contours inside the box dissapear.  when i pick 'touching any part of' polygon, the contours inside the box stays as well as contours outside the box that touch the line.  should I not perform the query on these or is there a way to keep just the contours inside the box?

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,947
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 8 (619 Views)

Re: trimming shape files

10-21-2011 04:02 PM in reply to: sfore

sfore wrote:

ran into a problem.  when i perform the filter on my contour shp file and select my boundary box to trim from, a bunch of contours inside the box dissapear.  when i pick 'touching any part of' polygon, the contours inside the box stays as well as contours outside the box that touch the line.  should I not perform the query on these or is there a way to keep just the contours inside the box?


You can use the split feature command and split the contours that cross your boundary box, then do the spatial query.

Or if you use the map import and tell it to create object data it should bring in the attributes you need, then you can trim with the boundary trim command.


 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
sfore
Posts: 392
Registered: ‎08-27-2007
Message 8 of 8 (602 Views)

Re: trimming shape files

10-22-2011 10:14 AM in reply to: Murph

Thanks for the info.  It was very helpful.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.