AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
sacprasanna
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎10-20-2011
Message 1 of 14 (672 Views)

Traverse adjustment

672 Views, 13 Replies
09-26-2012 01:34 AM

Hi all,

 

Can adjusted this type of traverse with side shorts in civil 3D without using field book file? I attached the point file.These are the information of traverse.

 

9000,1000,2000,0,stnCP

8,1034.32,2006.58,0,LF
9001,1024.738,2004.906,0,stnCP
9,1033.32,2007.59,0,LF
10,1034.32,2006.58,0,LF
9002,1027.503,1978.45,0,stnCP
9003,1002.404,1973.26,0,stnCP
11,1038.32,2007.58,0,WF
9004,999.997,2000.052,0,stnCP

 

  • Closed traverse
  • 9000-9004 Instrument station
  • 8-11 slide shots
  • shot 8 from 9000
  • shot 9,10 from 9001 like this

1. Observed Fore Azimuth: 95.05 (95D 05’).

2. Original Back Azimuth : 275.05 (275D 05’).
3. Closeness Factor: (1.58 for a detailed traverse).
4. 9000 - Original coordinates of Starting Instrument Station
5. 9005 – Original coordinates of Starting Instrument Station
Note:
Point 9004 with the observed coordinates of the Starting Station
9005,1000,2000,0,stnCP

 

Can adjusted this traverse using compass method in civil 3D?

 

Chamara Prasanna
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2015 SP 1
Sri Lanka
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,176
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 14 (649 Views)

Re: Traverse adjustment

09-26-2012 04:46 AM in reply to: sacprasanna

As far as I know. You can't adjust a Traverse without angular information. That would come from the Field Book.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
sacprasanna
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎10-20-2011
Message 3 of 14 (644 Views)

Re: Traverse adjustment

09-26-2012 04:56 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Hallo Allen,

 

I have angle information.I included it above as follow.

 

1. Observed Fore Azimuth: 95.05 (95D 05’).

2. Original Back Azimuth : 275.05 (275D 05’)

 

This is closed traverse.

 

Chamara Prasanna
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2015 SP 1
Sri Lanka
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,176
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 14 (638 Views)

Re: Traverse adjustment

09-26-2012 05:12 AM in reply to: sacprasanna

Chamara,

 

Yes. I noticed the azimuths. However you don't have the turned angles turned between the traverse stations. You could infer those by plotting the points and measuring the angles, but I wouldn't trust that without knowing the field procedure that was used in turning the angles.

 

Actually the only adjustment I've used in many years is Least Squares and that requires a lot of data from the field. Hopefully someone with more experience with this type of adjustments will answer in a while.

 

Allen

Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 873
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 5 of 14 (624 Views)

Re: Traverse adjustment

09-26-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

You could also use the Coodinate Geometry Editor on the Analyze Tab under survey. to obtain the angular info from a pline. and the use the balancing rules.

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Valued Mentor
bcsurvey
Posts: 289
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 6 of 14 (555 Views)

Re: Traverse adjustment

12-03-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: rl_jackson

This thread is somewhat recent, so hopefully I'll get an answer to my question.  It's related to the COGO editor mentioned above. 

 

I have a polyline that I created using Mapcheck (Analyze Tab/Survey/Mapcheck).  I loaded the polyline into the Coordinate Geometry Editor and all courses came in fine.  When I choose the adjusment method (Crandall) and view the report, it shows only the original courses with the x, y, and z deltas as zeros.  So then I choose to insert polyline and I get a message confirming the new polyline is based on the chosen adjustment.  Ok, so I'm getting somewhere.  But from this point, I'm not sure how to have the cogo editor display these deltas from before and after the adjustment.  I've been using C3D for about 2 years but am somewhat new to traverse adjustments.  I'm hoping I don't need to go through creating a survey database with all the garbage that goes along with that. 

 

Hope there's an easy solution for this that I'm just overlooking or perhaps I'm just ignorant of the process.

 

Thanks!

Civil 3D 2014
Windows 7 Professional SP1
Dell Precision T1700
(i7 @ 3.40 GHz)
8GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro K600
Valued Mentor
bcsurvey
Posts: 289
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 7 of 14 (550 Views)

Re: Traverse adjustment

12-03-2012 06:30 AM in reply to: bcsurvey

Well, I just came across an option in Mapcheck (right-click on item in mapcheck list) that allows for an adjustment.  On first glance, this appears to output all necessary data. 

 

But I would still like to get this data confirmed within the cogo editor, since this produces a nice easy to understand report as well as a redundant check.  Also, it gives you the option to insert cogo points on the adjusted polyline.

 

Civil 3D 2014
Windows 7 Professional SP1
Dell Precision T1700
(i7 @ 3.40 GHz)
8GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro K600
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 873
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 8 of 14 (543 Views)

Re: Traverse adjustment

12-03-2012 06:39 AM in reply to: bcsurvey

At the Dialogue box with all the Courses, there is the POB, and the Closing Point, select the arrow at the right, then select the point of closure. then it will show the error (No Adjustment) and the new info the adjustment you use.

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Valued Mentor
bcsurvey
Posts: 289
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 9 of 14 (538 Views)

Re: Traverse adjustment

12-03-2012 07:34 AM in reply to: rl_jackson

Did you mean the button to choose the POB?  When I do that, and pick the beginning point, I get a prompt for whether or not to use that as the point of closure for generating a closed traverse, which will then generate the deltas in the report if accepted.  But choosing the point of closure directly gives no prompt. 

 

To show my ignorance on the matter, in the cogo editor you can choose Crandall adjustment (which I believe the least squares is based on) but in the mapcheck adjustment, there is a direct option for least squares OR Crandall, among others.

 

Looks like these two methods each have their pros and cons, and when used correctly, will give the user sufficient analysis, whether the traverse is based on metes and bounds or legal descriptions (mapcheck), or on observed cogo points (cogo editor).  The output data for the mapcheck method seems to be superior though.

Civil 3D 2014
Windows 7 Professional SP1
Dell Precision T1700
(i7 @ 3.40 GHz)
8GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro K600
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 10 of 14 (535 Views)

Re: Traverse adjustment

12-03-2012 07:44 AM in reply to: bcsurvey

To do a closure report / balance you need to have both a POB and a POC. We set up the tool so that if you pick a POB it will ask if you want to use that as the POC as well. The thinking was that were be more closed loops than open. The POB/POC can either be COGO points or picked points in the drawing.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.