AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Strakan
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 1 of 6 (290 Views)

Translate Survey database rotation question

290 Views, 5 Replies
09-09-2013 12:40 PM

I am attempting to rotate my Survey database to my platted line bearing. I calculate out the angle of rotation around my section corner (in my case 0.0641) and when I apply the translate survey data, it rotates it at a much larger scal than specified (1.5236). I have also tried by "pick in drawing" to specify roation without much luck. Any help would be appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,600
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 6 (285 Views)

Re: Translate Survey database rotation question

09-09-2013 01:26 PM in reply to: Strakan

Double check your angle and direction types in Survey Database Settings and in Drawing Settings.

 

If you get your DMS mixed up with your Grads you can get this sort of mess.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 3 of 6 (266 Views)

Re: Translate Survey database rotation question

09-09-2013 04:58 PM in reply to: Strakan

"I have also tried by "pick in drawing" to specify roation without much luck. Any help would be appreciated."

 

When you say your not have any luck picking from the drawing what exactly is the issue.

 

I know that in my case I have to have my osnap toolbar undocked to be able to select osnaps, this only happens to me in 2013 and I never came across this before then, I have not tried 2014 yet.

 

If this is the case make the osnap toolbar float and try the same process.

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Contributor
Strakan
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 4 of 6 (248 Views)

Re: Translate Survey database rotation question

09-10-2013 05:10 AM in reply to: tcorey

I Have checked the Survey database settings and also the drawing settings. They are all set to DMS, with Bearings as a distance. It definetly seems to be a unit issue. Are there any other location you can think of where this might be recieveing and error?

Contributor
Strakan
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 5 of 6 (244 Views)

Re: Translate Survey database rotation question

09-10-2013 05:38 AM in reply to: Strakan

Also another thing that I have seen happening with this. I will perform the translation (rotation of 0.0641d), and it will rotate by 1.32d. I undo everything and get back to my pre-translation survey data, and then try to re-apply the translation, once again a rotation of 0.0641d, but this time it rotates the data 1.45d.

Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 6 of 6 (226 Views)

Re: Translate Survey database rotation question

09-10-2013 09:55 AM in reply to: Strakan

To the best of my knowledge once you translate a SDB you cannot undo it. It updates the points automatically within the database, the undo will however update the points in the drawing. There two separate animals - and should be treated as such. (The SDB does not change after an undo)

 

With regards to the settings

 

In drawing setting verify that the Ambient setting for Angle is set to degree & DDMMSSS. The same should hold true within the SDB for Units - Angle. Those should be the only ones controlling things like this, that I can think of.

 

 

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.