Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transitioning surveyors to Civil 3D

39 REPLIES 39
Message 1 of 40
MaryBell1
2107 Views, 39 Replies

Transitioning surveyors to Civil 3D

Hello.... I am in need of some advice from surveyors or perhaps a CAD manager using civil 3d. It's time to get our surveyors up and running. I could use some advice as to the easiest way to help them transition.

My background is Civil Eng/CADD Tech but I've done some surveying in the past so I'm as familiar as I need to be for my engineering drawings. I was hired about a year ago to transition the office to C3D and I did that and have put out over 20 projects using 2014/2015, obviously tweaking styles, templates , etc. as I go. As most surveyors are understandably somewhat reluctant to the switch these guys are even more so. It's a very small company, 2 surveyors, 2 engineers and me. 1 engineer and both surveyors are co-owners but they work as if they are completely seperate companies!? Survey has no interest in working as a team and providing drawings that are workable for engineering so we end up redrawing everything. They are currently mostly using LDD 2008. They are field surveyors and their drawings are quite simplistic as they are not drafters and have had no interest in learning LDD features let alone Civil 3D. They don't like automation and are happy to insert 100 tree blocks one by one and utilizing layers 1-4, ptext & dims, have no idea how dimensions work let alone text styles. I'm not criticizing but I want to give a clear picture of what I'm trying to work with. I think the C3D interface is going to blow their minds!