AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
60 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎07-12-2012
Post 1 of 10
Accepted Solution

Transition between two corridors

678 Views, 9 Replies
09-24-2012 07:31 PM

I'm designing a single 2% cross flow blke path. I wanted to reverse the cross flow so I created two

corridors, one flowing to the left and one flowing to the right along the same tangent centerline. I want to

add a 50 foot warp transition in between them. I'n not sure how to do that. I thought of the intersection

design but that won't work. Any suggestions?

 

Thanks John Wilson

Rather than try to transition between two corridors you could just create a single one that does the whole job.

You'll need to use a subassembly that supports superelevation. Then I would create a superelevation view to make the required changes. Look it up in help if you don't know how that's done.

Or you could try this drawing instead....

Thanks Steve

 

I'll look into that

 

JOhn

Hi Matt

 

  I thougth of that. I'll check it out

 

Thanks John

Thanks Steve for the drawing

I'll look at it and work with it. If I have further question I'll post it

 

Thanks again 

 

 

Avoid the calculator and go straight into the Tabular editor.  Delete all of the super data and then start fresh, adding manual stations.  I recommend that you first set the defaults for the two ends of your alignment, then work inward to the section that you're going to be editing.

 

Clipboard01.png

 

The table isn't easy to follow at times, so I like to have a superelevation view to help visualize what is happening.

 

Clipboard02.png

 

*Expert Elite*
2,294 Posts
419 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Post 2 of 10

Re: Transition between two corridors

09-24-2012 09:00 PM in reply to: johnwilson0805

Rather than try to transition between two corridors you could just create a single one that does the whole job.

*Expert Elite*
2,805 Posts
288 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Post 3 of 10

Re: Transition between two corridors

09-24-2012 09:06 PM in reply to: johnwilson0805
You'll need to use a subassembly that supports superelevation. Then I would create a superelevation view to make the required changes. Look it up in help if you don't know how that's done.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
2,294 Posts
419 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Post 4 of 10

Re: Transition between two corridors

09-24-2012 09:35 PM in reply to: mathewk

Or you could try this drawing instead....

Valued Contributor
60 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎07-12-2012
Post 5 of 10

Re: Transition between two corridors

09-25-2012 06:57 AM in reply to: sboon

Thanks Steve

 

I'll look into that

 

JOhn

Valued Contributor
60 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎07-12-2012
Post 6 of 10

Re: Transition between two corridors

09-25-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: mathewk

Hi Matt

 

  I thougth of that. I'll check it out

 

Thanks John

Valued Contributor
60 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎07-12-2012
Post 7 of 10

Re: Transition between two corridors

09-25-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: sboon

Thanks Steve for the drawing

I'll look at it and work with it. If I have further question I'll post it

 

Thanks again 

 

 

Valued Contributor
60 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎07-12-2012
Post 8 of 10

Re: Transition between two corridors

10-03-2012 08:45 AM in reply to: sboon

Hii Steve

 

Thanks for the sample drawing "CORRIDOR-3A" . Thats perfect for what I need to do for

my bike path design. The Engineers want me to set manual stations and just flip flop the 2% cross slopes.

 

Heres my question:

 

In my drawing when I go to SUPERELVATION tab and then "CALCULATE/EDIT SUPERELEVATION", the program

calculates for me per ASSHTO 2001 elmax 4% around curves only. Then I create from

"CREATE SUPERELVELATION VIEW"  a view but it looks totally different from your sample drawing. (I'm

using 2012)

 

Would it be possible to give me a step by step instruction on how you arrived at the view that you showed?

The tutorials doesn't explain these steps

 

Thank you for your help so far

 

John Wilson

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
2,294 Posts
419 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Post 9 of 10

Re: Transition between two corridors

10-03-2012 09:30 AM in reply to: johnwilson0805

Avoid the calculator and go straight into the Tabular editor.  Delete all of the super data and then start fresh, adding manual stations.  I recommend that you first set the defaults for the two ends of your alignment, then work inward to the section that you're going to be editing.

 

Clipboard01.png

 

The table isn't easy to follow at times, so I like to have a superelevation view to help visualize what is happening.

 

Clipboard02.png

 

Valued Contributor
60 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎07-12-2012
Post 10 of 10

Re: Transition between two corridors

10-03-2012 12:19 PM in reply to: johnwilson0805

Hi Stevw

 

Thats great. That makes it easy for me

 

John

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!