AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
jblix
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 1 of 3 (282 Views)

Transfering Feature Line object between .dwg files

282 Views, 2 Replies
08-20-2010 02:26 PM

I have several TB of Lidar LAS data for a very large watershed, so I can only process the smaller catchments without exceeding my computing capacity. However, I would like to build a single breakline file for the all the streams and ditches and apply those breaklines to every instance of surface that I build.

 

My first attempt has been to draw feature lines with elevation values, and that works fine within a single drawing. But when I try to export the drawing to LandXML and import it in another drawing, I get the surface, but there are no Line Features. It just drops out.

 

Am I overlooking something as I export the features? Does anyone know of a better approach to the problem?

 

BTW, I'm working with Civil 3D 2011.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,303
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 2 of 3 (265 Views)

Re: Transfering Feature Line object between .dwg files

08-20-2010 09:03 PM in reply to: jblix

It seems to me you would be better off keeping the breaklines in a single dwg and creating a mosaic of data clip boundaries. Using these boundaries you would create a mosaic of surfaces that cover the site. These surfaces would then be data referenced as needed to perform analyses or to display the surfaces in your maps. To reduce processing and resource requirements you would set the display of each surface tile to boundary only in the master file.

 

I'm not aware of any issues that you might encounter when using data shortcuts to surfaces with data clip boundaries. Hopefully others with more experience in that regard will offer advice.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,966
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 3 (247 Views)

Re: Transfering Feature Line object between .dwg files

08-22-2010 07:32 AM in reply to: jblix

I think wblock and insert are the best way to move feature lines between dwg files. I also think this is Autodesk Best Practice.

 

John

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.