AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
pbrucer2
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
Message 1 of 14 (1,024 Views)

Toolspace problems in C3D 2012

1024 Views, 13 Replies
04-06-2012 11:22 AM

I am having a problem with what I believe to be the toolspace palette. When I have it expanded and docked on the left side of the screen, at a certain point (timeline varies) it copies it appears to copy itself directly above itself and throws an error of:

 

FATAL ERROR:  Unhandled e06d7363h Exception at fd5ccacdh.

 

and closes the program.

 

At that point it does something to my Excel program and won't let me copy/paste anything.

 

This is all on a new computer that I've had for about a week, so I'm not sure if it's the video driver or where it's coming from. All of the drivers are up to date.

 

Please Help!!

IDSP 2014
Windows 7 x64 Pro
AMD (ATI) Firepro M8900 (FireGL) Mobility Graphics
8 GB Ram
Intel Core i5-2520M CPM @ 2.50 GHz
Valued Mentor
owenmull
Posts: 356
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 2 of 14 (1,023 Views)

Re: Toolspace problems in C3D 2012

04-06-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: pbrucer2

The only solution I have found to work for this type of error is to edit the registry key.

 

Go to Start-->Run-->type 'regedit' and navigate to the following:

(If 'Run' command not on Start menu, Google how to bring it up, or reply to me)

 

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\autodesk\AutoCAD\R18.0\ACAD-8000:409\WebServices\CommunicationCenter]
@=""
"LastUpdateTimeLoWord"=dword:4be447d0

Changing the dword to 00000000 solves the problem.

 

This is the only solution I have found to work. Autodesk will tell you to check for updates, and run repair, but these dont work for this issue.

 

Warning: Typical Registry warnings apply.     <-------Obligatory Statement.

-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
Active Member
pbrucer2
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
Message 3 of 14 (995 Views)

Re: Toolspace problems in C3D 2012

04-06-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: pbrucer2

-owenmull,

I made the change that you suggested and It did it again.  Ses attached Pic.

 

If you look close under the second command line from the bottom (line that has _mtedit), the toolspace copies itself and covers the ribbon and toolbars right after it faults. You don't see any of the toolbars or the ribbon in that area. Luckily it wasn't a fatal fault this time and I was able to save the file.

 

Anyone have any ideas?

IDSP 2014
Windows 7 x64 Pro
AMD (ATI) Firepro M8900 (FireGL) Mobility Graphics
8 GB Ram
Intel Core i5-2520M CPM @ 2.50 GHz
Valued Mentor
owenmull
Posts: 356
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 4 of 14 (981 Views)

Re: Toolspace problems in C3D 2012

04-06-2012 03:17 PM in reply to: pbrucer2

Hmmm, I'm not sure on this one. Could be a video card issue, I know some of ATI's "mobility" line never used to like Cad programs very much, but I can't say with any degree of certainty. May want to contact Autodesk about this one.

-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
Valued Mentor
owenmull
Posts: 356
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 5 of 14 (944 Views)

Re: Toolspace problems in C3D 2012

04-09-2012 09:39 AM in reply to: pbrucer2

Try this:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=17751015&linkID=9240698

-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
Active Member
pbrucer2
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
Message 6 of 14 (939 Views)

Re: Toolspace problems in C3D 2012

04-09-2012 10:54 AM in reply to: owenmull

That hotfix did not work.  I got a better screen print of the fault this time though. Please see attachment.

IDSP 2014
Windows 7 x64 Pro
AMD (ATI) Firepro M8900 (FireGL) Mobility Graphics
8 GB Ram
Intel Core i5-2520M CPM @ 2.50 GHz
Valued Mentor
owenmull
Posts: 356
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 7 of 14 (933 Views)

Re: Toolspace problems in C3D 2012

04-09-2012 11:55 AM in reply to: pbrucer2

The only thing I can think of that may be left would be to repair/reinstall.

 

Looks like a video card issue to me.

 

Sorry I couldnt be of more help.

-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
Active Member
pbrucer2
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
Message 8 of 14 (930 Views)

Re: Toolspace problems in C3D 2012

04-09-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: owenmull

Yes I've done a complete uninstall/reinstall with the same results.  I'm of the same opinion about the video card being the problem. I truly appreciate your help on this.

IDSP 2014
Windows 7 x64 Pro
AMD (ATI) Firepro M8900 (FireGL) Mobility Graphics
8 GB Ram
Intel Core i5-2520M CPM @ 2.50 GHz
Employee
NatyRofner
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-02-2012
Message 9 of 14 (905 Views)

Re: Toolspace problems in C3D 2012

04-12-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: pbrucer2

Hi pbrucer2,


Once the clean user registry do not solves your problem, these errors may indicate a corruption of the Microsoft® .NET Framework. This operating system component is required for several AutoCAD features, including the Properties Palette, Layer Manager, Ribbon, Menu Browser, Tooltips and other features.

 

So, I suggest you to reinstall the Microsoft .NET 4.0 on your machine and then perform a Repair your AutoCAD Civil 3D (http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS16436702).

 

If this suggestion still do not solve your problem so your machine can present some Conflicting Apps.

 

To check this possibility, try to run the AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 with Windows in Diagnostic Mode (http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS1054234) following the steps as described below:

 

"Using the Windows System Configuration Utility to make a diagnosis:
1) In the 'Start' menu (Windows), click 'Run'.
2) In the 'Open', type 'msconfig' and click 'OK'.
3) Click on the 'Services' at the top.
4) At the bottom (just above the OK button), click the check box Hide all Microsoft services.
5) Click on 'Disable all'.
6) IMPORTANT: In the list, check 'Autodesk Licensing Service' selected as active.
7) Click on the 'Startup'. If there is a mix of items marked / unmarked, make a list of elements. Then click on 'Disable All'.
8) Click OK and restart Windows when prompted (click on 'OK' on any error that you can get permission.)
9) After restarting, click 'OK' to warning dialog box MSCONFIG.


If AutoCAD Civil 3D is running well at this point, then there is an interaction with any other service or application that is taking the behavior problem (in the normal startup mode). Using lists of check boxes in MSCONFIG tabs 'Services' and 'Startup', (created at step 7) you can use a process of elimination to discover what element(s) is(are) causing the problem.

 

Please, let me know if these suggestions helps you.

 

 

Naty



Natanielly Rofner
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
erickson123
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 10 of 14 (830 Views)

Re: Toolspace problems in C3D 2012

04-26-2012 10:45 AM in reply to: pbrucer2

Hi,

 

Did you find an answer to your problem?  A similar thing just happened to one of my machines.  If I turn off the toolspace the problem goes away.

 

Thanks.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!