AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
coloeng
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-16-2010
Message 1 of 5 (2,849 Views)
Accepted Solution

Tool Palette - Blocks won't insert

2849 Views, 4 Replies
03-22-2012 08:08 AM

I am working with a client who has a standard tool pallete with blocks. I already have imported/customized the tool palletes as per their manual. The blocks show up in the tool paleltte, but when i drag to insert them. It can't locate the symbols file and gives me this error : Source drawing "H:\MASTER-SYMBOLS.dwg for block "X" not found.

 

I have the master symbols drawing as indicated and pathed the location through options\files\tool palletes file locations

 

so not sure what im doing wrong or if it needs to be pathed somewhere else.

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,784
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 5 (2,837 Views)

Re: Tool Palette - Blocks won't insert

03-22-2012 09:16 AM in reply to: coloeng

The original drawing that the block tools were created in has been moved or it's name has been changed. The options path for toolpalettes tells AutoCAD where to find the tool palettes, not the files that the tool palettes reference. Right click on the block in the TP and select Properties. This will tell you where the tool is looking to find the block. Either change the tool to look at the new location or move the original drawing back to that location.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Contributor
coloeng
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-16-2010
Message 3 of 5 (2,827 Views)

Re: Tool Palette - Blocks won't insert

03-22-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

That worked! but i have about 200 blocks. is there a way to change that setting globally?

 

Thanks

Contributor
coloeng
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-16-2010
Message 4 of 5 (2,816 Views)

Re: Tool Palette - Blocks won't insert

03-22-2012 11:24 AM in reply to: coloeng

ok. i think i figured it out. just highlight all the blocks in the pallete and click properties.

 

thanks for the help!

Member
dikesh
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-05-2013
Message 5 of 5 (1,439 Views)

Re: Tool Palette - Blocks won't insert

09-05-2013 01:35 AM in reply to: coloeng

when i select all the block and browse the source file, it won't allow me to select the folder and all the blocks are not in one dwg file. Pls help.

 

Regards

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.