AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*David Dixon
Message 21 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-03-2006 02:17 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
I sure would like to see a white paper on getting MySQL to work with Vault
;-) That would be HUGE!!!

Dave D.

On Wed, 03 May 2006 10:10:03 -0400, TomD
wrote:

> One of the presenters at BootCamp said that it
> would.......hmmmm.......Adesk
> comment?
>
> IMO, this is NOT a minor issue............there are some folks out here
> using MySQL and this could be a huge issue.
>
> "Jon Rizzo" wrote in message
> news:5161561@discussion.autodesk.com...
> vault only runs on SQL Server, MSDE or SQL Server Express 2005. Both
> MSDE
> and SQL Server Express 2005 are free and included with Vault. Vault does
> NOT run on MySQL.
Employee
nzeeben
Posts: 1,102
Registered: ‎01-30-2004
Message 22 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-03-2006 02:48 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
I have never seen MySQL listed as supported, I would guess the integration
between vault and the MSFT products are too tight to swap in a different
back end. It may be possible, but my gut says it isn't.


--
Nick Zeeben
Engineered Efficiency
C3D 2007
XP Tablet and Pro
"David Dixon" wrote in message
news:5163037@discussion.autodesk.com...
I sure would like to see a white paper on getting MySQL to work with Vault
;-) That would be HUGE!!!

Dave D.

On Wed, 03 May 2006 10:10:03 -0400, TomD
wrote:

> One of the presenters at BootCamp said that it
> would.......hmmmm.......Adesk
> comment?
>
> IMO, this is NOT a minor issue............there are some folks out here
> using MySQL and this could be a huge issue.
>
> "Jon Rizzo" wrote in message
> news:5161561@discussion.autodesk.com...
> vault only runs on SQL Server, MSDE or SQL Server Express 2005. Both
> MSDE
> and SQL Server Express 2005 are free and included with Vault. Vault does
> NOT run on MySQL.
*David Dixon
Message 23 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-04-2006 06:31 AM in reply to: *David Dixon
Kevin,
I read previous posts here where some users are having problems using Xref
"Overlay" with Vault and creating circular xrefs because Vault only uses
the "Attach" option. I haven't tried this because I do not have Vault
installed.

Your approach to using Sheet Set Manager with Vault seems resonable to
me. I don't know why these things have to be so complicated???
Dave

On Wed, 03 May 2006 10:38:14 -0400, kevincurrey wrote:

> Has anyone here addressed the issue of vault & xrefs yet? Specifically
> how would you use sheet set manager with a project in vault? What I
> have been able to come up with so far is that I probably only want to
> have my data drawings in the vault, and have everything else reference
> the "working copy" outside of vault. But it seems like this could get
> hairy if you want to keep all your drawings on a server (as opposed to
> C:\Civil 3D Projects, or whatever).
Contributor
Shark
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-15-2005
Message 24 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-04-2006 02:56 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
This is in regards to each Vault as well, right? If you do happen to use 2 GBs in the filestore, one can just start a new Vault?
*James Wedding
Message 25 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-04-2006 03:07 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
Correct.

--
James Wedding, P.E.
Engineered Efficiency, Inc.
Civil 3D 2006 SP2
XP Tablet, SP2, 2GHz, 1.5G
www.eng-eff.com
www.civil3d.com
*Jon Rizzo
Message 26 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-05-2006 05:03 AM in reply to: *David Dixon
I agree with you - I was not happy with the whole SQL Server requirement
myself & share your sentiments about paying subscription fees for C3D before
it is production ready. 2007 looks like it has the features necessary, so
we will probably jump in after a service pack or two at least. We've
certainly spent enough time getting ready for it - Autodesk has been
dangling this carrot for over 5 years!

Jon



wrote in message news:5161665@discussion.autodesk.com...
Jon, my truth detector just redlined.
This is shaping up to be quite the upgrade.
First I'm faced with spiraling subscription costs for a product that isn't
ready for production use.
Then I'm told that if you are going to implement you are going to have to
get someone in to help.
Then the unexpected Dollar bomb of another SQL server to use the no longer
available data shortcuts.
Now I find out I won't be able to plot directly to my plotters until they
are reformatted.
And I'm an idiot if I roll this product out for at least 6 month's because
of the dwg format change.
Please don't think I'm shouting at you Jon, from everything I've heard from
people I trust you're good people. I'm just blowing off some steam.

John Postlewait
IS Department
George Butler Associates

xcuse me I'm done here, I got to go rant about the Revit Revolution I have
to deal with also.
Contributor
Shark
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-15-2005
Message 27 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-05-2006 09:24 AM in reply to: *David Dixon
Data Shortcuts are not nearly as simple as they were in C3D 2006. If you have multiple objects that you are referencing it can be difficult to remember where to reload these .xml files from. But, if you can manage to keep track of them, they are an alternative answer to Vault. But, as you can tell this would not be useful in a multiple user environment. Message was edited by: Shark
*Rob
Message 28 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-17-2006 08:34 AM in reply to: *David Dixon
Is that a 10 user login, or 10 trying to access it at once, type of limit?

Rob

"James Wedding" wrote in message
news:5161873@discussion.autodesk.com...
Vault's db is actually only storing pointers and change records, not the dwg
or other data.

2G is a lot of one line pointers, so the ~10 user limit is more of a concern
for most shops.

--
James Wedding, P.E.
Engineered Efficiency, Inc.
Civil 3D 2006 SP2
XP Tablet, SP2, 2GHz, 1.5G
www.eng-eff.com
www.civil3d.com
Contributor
Shark
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-15-2005
Message 29 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-17-2006 10:03 AM in reply to: *David Dixon
To my knowledge you can have as many logins as you want. The 10 user limit is in reference to the suggested amount of users who should access the vault at any given time (at the same time). But, this is still just a suggeestion. You will be able to have more users accessing the vault at one time, but you will most definately experience Lag in Data transfers. In this case you would want to go with the Full MSSQL package.
*Rob
Message 30 of 35 (57 Views)

Re: To Vault or Not to Vault?

05-17-2006 12:15 PM in reply to: *David Dixon
Not having Vault (or 06 or 07) installed yet, I have questions.

If a user is working in a drawing, does that mean they are a user to vault
the whole time in the drawing?
Or just when accessing Vault for checkin/out?
Does C3D access Vault on its own?
How many drawings can be checked out per user?
Is there a time limit they can be cheked out?

I have looked at the Adesk web site and newsgroups and just end up with more
questions than answers.

So, MANY thanks for any answers. It really helps.


Rob




wrote in message news:5177757@discussion.autodesk.com...
To my knowledge you can have as many logins as you want. The 10 user limit
is in reference to the suggested amount of users who should access the vault
at any given time (at the same time). But, this is still just a
suggeestion. You will be able to have more users accessing the vault at one
time, but you will most definately experience Lag in Data transfers. In
this case you would want to go with the Full MSSQL package.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.