AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,781
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 4 (211 Views)

The future is bright - allegedley

211 Views, 3 Replies
12-05-2013 01:17 AM

Saw this on the From The Ground Up blog - http://news.autodesk.com/press-release/architecture-engineering-construction-civil-infrastructure-an...

 

It'll be interesting to see how many of Civil 3D's current ongoing "issues" are addressed for the brave new world of BIM to function as the marketing people seem to think it will.....

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 767
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 2 of 4 (189 Views)

Re: The future is bright - allegedley

12-05-2013 04:08 AM in reply to: neilyj

I think you may be confused. I have found numerous referances to Revit  on the release and none to Civil3d.

 

Makes sence as Bim = Revit, at least that is what every Architect we bump seems to think. I think we need to coin a new term for the Civil industry.

 

How about GIS? :smileylol:

Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,781
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 4 (183 Views)

Re: The future is bright - allegedley

12-05-2013 04:19 AM in reply to: mikeevans

Yes , must be having a senior moment; apologies for thinking Civil 3D = BIM...:smileyfrustrated:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,343
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 4 (141 Views)

Re: The future is bright - allegedley

12-05-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: mikeevans

How about Dirt Information Management (DIM)?  :smileyvery-happy:

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.