AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
MtnMax700
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 1 of 8 (228 Views)

Templates and Point Groups

228 Views, 7 Replies
09-27-2012 11:04 AM

Can you create point groups in your template to be used by all drawings or do they have to be per dwg.?

 

Thxs.


David

Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 781
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 2 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 11:21 AM in reply to: MtnMax700

Yes you cand have this setup in your template.

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 8 (219 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: MtnMax700

Yes.  You can also create surfaces using those point groups in your template, so when you import points, your surface is automatically created.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,990
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 8 (205 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: TRogers

Hi Todd,

 

I loved that technique, but I the problem I had was I would have these empty surfaces in the prospector for all my drawings. I thought about different tplates for surfaces but I didn't think it was worth monitoring many templates.

 

How do you do? Many templates or just delete the empty surfaces as you go?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 5 of 8 (203 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 01:06 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Well I'm not in production, so there is no need for me to have that in my template file.  If I was in production, I would have just the one template file with one surface for existing ground.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,990
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 8 (192 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: TRogers

Thats my delema. I have one template file for production so every drawing gets created with an EG in it. It can get confusing after the "real" eg gets DS into other production drawings with this prototype eg already in it. Am I making sense?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 7 of 8 (189 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 02:08 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

AAAH, I see your delimma.  That does make sense.  That would probably end up causing some serious problems down the road.  Maybe rename the one in the template to be something else?  Otherwise, just don't create one in the template.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,990
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 8 (187 Views)

Re: Templates and Point Groups

09-27-2012 02:15 PM in reply to: TRogers

Yeah, I gave up on it. I principle ita a great idea. I went all out making emply surfaces, pipe networks, aligments profiles, corridors, point groups all of it. Works great when you are in a bubble but not in production

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.