AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
matkain
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 1 of 8 (239 Views)
Accepted Solution

Surveyed points v alignment report

239 Views, 7 Replies
09-07-2013 07:16 AM

I have surveyed 100+ points along an alignment. I wish to create a report showing the perpendicular offset, chainage and z value for each point in relation to the alignment, and produce it in a csv or similar spreadsheet format.

How do I do this?

 

Thanks in advance.

Mat

 

Sta = Station = Chainage

Off = Offset

 

This report should give you what you want:

9-7-2013 8-10-04 AM.png

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,962
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 8 (230 Views)

Re: Surveyed points v alignment report

09-07-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: matkain

Toolbox tab>> alignment node should have sta off

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
matkain
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 3 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Surveyed points v alignment report

09-07-2013 07:57 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Sorry but I don't know what you mean.

New user to civil 3D here. Whats alignment node? whats sta off?

 

I can see the toolbox tab with the expanded alignment menu. I can't see anywhere that tells me to turn a 'STA' off or on? How does this create a report?

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,380
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 8 (220 Views)

Re: Surveyed points v alignment report

09-07-2013 08:14 AM in reply to: matkain

Sta = Station = Chainage

Off = Offset

 

This report should give you what you want:

9-7-2013 8-10-04 AM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,962
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 8 (217 Views)

Re: Surveyed points v alignment report

09-07-2013 08:16 AM in reply to: matkain
OOps!
I meant the point node
in the toolbox tab there are nodes / colloection / folders - you know - like an exploreer tree. expand the point folder and there should be station offset report. highlight>> right click>>> execute, then adjust the dialgog for the points and alignment in question.

Tip: I like to export the points of interest make a clean file import the points and alignment then execute the report; its less cluttered, but not essential
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
matkain
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 6 of 8 (214 Views)

Re: Surveyed points v alignment report

09-07-2013 08:25 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Thanks Joseph

Thanks for the tip. I notice that it includes all points in the drawing.Thats hard when there's 1000 points and you want 300. I'll export the point group I'll need and the alignment I suppose each time I do a report.

Pity you can't pick the points by group or description. (can you?)

 

Thanks once again and I'll keep stumbling through.

 

Mat

*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 769
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 7 of 8 (193 Views)

Re: Surveyed points v alignment report

09-07-2013 08:38 AM in reply to: matkain
You should be able to select a point group in the reports, "alignment point station offset" report. I've not got c3d in front right now.

If you can't just export and import the data you need to a new dwg.
Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

Contributor
matkain
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 8 of 8 (187 Views)

Re: Surveyed points v alignment report

09-07-2013 08:58 AM in reply to: mikeevans

Hi Mike

From what I can see you don't have any options for selecting your points. It's all or nothing, or the tedioius task of selecting each point individually with the tick box. I'm a bit lost as to why they give these options for point groups etc. in the drawing but then leave no options to access them.

I'll just go the double handling method of bringing them in to my main drawing, then to another drawing.

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.