AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kevinjackman
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
Message 1 of 5 (1,809 Views)
Accepted Solution

Survey Figure to 2D Polyline

1809 Views, 4 Replies
11-15-2011 03:20 PM

When i import survey, my curb returns are drawn for me as Survey Figures with arcs and that's awesome for the 3D model, but I also want 2D linework as well.

 

So I usually explode the figures into 3D polylines, then convert that to 2D polylines.

 

The problem is that I do not get ARCS when I explode into 3D polylines.  As 3D polylines can't contain arcs, i get a series of segments in the shape of an arc and those segments seem to have a large mid-ordinate distance, as the curb return looks 'choppy'.

 

Is there a way to change the default so that i get many more segments so that the 3D polyline looks more like an arc (less choppy)?

 

C3D 2012

 

Curb Return

Flatten the figures before you explode them. BTW why do you need 2D linework in addition to the figures; duplication of effort and all?
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,790
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 5 (1,802 Views)

Re: Survey Figure to 2D Polyline

11-15-2011 05:20 PM in reply to: kevinjackman
Flatten the figures before you explode them. BTW why do you need 2D linework in addition to the figures; duplication of effort and all?
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 3 of 5 (1,790 Views)

Re: Survey Figure to 2D Polyline

11-16-2011 05:57 AM in reply to: mathewk

because survey figures are much more difficult to work with than a 2d polyline.  selecting several survey figures in a drawing to modify is very time consuming.    There aren't as many options to modify survey figures as there are for 2d polylines.

 

when they first rolled out survey figures, i thought it would be kewl for my linework to be in 3d upon import so i used the fbk import to bring in linework into several drawings.    Then when i went to add some hatching i found out quickly that survey figures are ignored when it comes to pick boundary hatching.   I was like ok i'll flatten this explode it and break it apart, oh wait it's part of my existing ground breaklines.   not to mention when you select one and pick explode it takes like a minute to finish one survey figure explode.   I now avoid bringing survey figures into the drawing.   I went back to our lisp routine that brings in 2d polygon linework.

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 762
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 4 of 5 (1,782 Views)

Re: Survey Figure to 2D Polyline

11-16-2011 06:38 AM in reply to: mathewk

I use the 3d survey figures for most of my drawings, but I regularly have to draw on top of a few then flatten so that I can snap, trim, extend, etc. to them.  3d figures are nice for surfaces, but they're horrible to work with when you're trying to say, draw an easement.  If the property lines are from the survey database, they'll be in 3d space, but my easement lines will be at 0 elevation.  I have to either flatten the figures or just draw a new line on top of the figure and flatten that so I don't mess with the figure.

 

2d linework is still very much necessary and I wish Autodesk would realize that.  If they'd make snapping, trimming, and other basic functions work with survey figures and polylines then this wouldn't be necessary.

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,510
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 5 of 5 (1,781 Views)

Re: Survey Figure to 2D Polyline

11-16-2011 06:39 AM in reply to: kevinjackman

If you were to consider a 3rd party solution, SincpacC3D's Extract2d command creates 2d polylines from the Figures, keeping the figures intact, and keeping the curves in the polyline. Can be performed one at a time or can be used on all items on a layer. Can even be used through an Xref to place the new linework into a new drawing.

http://www.quuxsoft.com/SincpacC3D_Help/SP_Extract2d.htm

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.