AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
snuffysmithy
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 1 of 17 (421 Views)

Survey Figure is locked

421 Views, 16 Replies
12-01-2011 03:33 PM

Has anyone seen this. My survey figures are locked in one of my databases. Instead of the expand button I have a lock button. I can't find a place to unlock my survey figure. Any help would be appreciated.

Valued Contributor
Maine-iac
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎10-15-2009
Message 2 of 17 (406 Views)

Re: Survey Figure is locked

12-02-2011 07:04 AM in reply to: snuffysmithy

This is only a quess because I don't know what version you are using. I'm in 2011 which does not even allow me to open up an "edit figure properties" box if someone else has the survey database open for editing. Are you in 2012 and they now allow you to view that dialogue box in a locked mode if someone else has that projects survey database open for editing?

Civil 3D 2011
Windows 7 Prof. x64
HP Z400 Workstation
Intel(R) Xenon(R) CPU
W3550 @ 3.07GHz
6.00 GB RAM
Contributor
snuffysmithy
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 3 of 17 (395 Views)

Re: Survey Figure is locked

12-02-2011 07:41 AM in reply to: Maine-iac

I am using 2012 with sp1. No one else has the database open. It is locked only in the one database. I was was trying to update the survey database with edited figures in the drawing.

Valued Contributor
Maine-iac
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎10-15-2009
Message 4 of 17 (387 Views)

Re: Survey Figure is locked

12-02-2011 07:53 AM in reply to: snuffysmithy

Can you right click on your survey database or figures in the prospector/settings/survey area and lock and unlock the database the same way you can lock and unlock points in the prospector?

Civil 3D 2011
Windows 7 Prof. x64
HP Z400 Workstation
Intel(R) Xenon(R) CPU
W3550 @ 3.07GHz
6.00 GB RAM
Contributor
snuffysmithy
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 5 of 17 (382 Views)

Re: Survey Figure is locked

12-02-2011 08:05 AM in reply to: Maine-iac

The only options in the prospector are: update from survey data; update survey data from drawing; remove from drawing; select; zoom to; pan to; refresh. Right clicking on the survey figure: figure properties; edit survey figure properties; edit figure style; update from survey data; browse to survey data; update survey data from drawing (which is greyed out).

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,927
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 17 (364 Views)

Re: Survey Figure is locked

12-03-2011 10:15 AM in reply to: snuffysmithy

Was the db created in 09 or 10? If so you may need to update the db. Are your survey settings configured to update these automatically?

 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Contributor
snuffysmithy
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 7 of 17 (345 Views)

Re: Survey Figure is locked

12-05-2011 07:26 AM in reply to: snuffysmithy

The survey database was created in 2012. I have deleted all the figures from the database except one that would not delete. I cannot erase it from the drawing. It looks like I will have to start over. Bummer.

Product Support
Jason.Hickey
Posts: 336
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 8 of 17 (339 Views)

Re: Survey Figure is locked

12-05-2011 08:17 AM in reply to: snuffysmithy

When you open a survey database in Civil 3D 2012, you have an option to open it for edit or open as read only. The only reason I can think of that anything in a survey database would be locked is if it were read only - can you check and see if you opened it for edit?



Jason Hickey
Premium Services Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,927
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 17 (330 Views)

Re: Survey Figure is locked

12-05-2011 09:13 AM in reply to: Jason.Hickey

Good call Jason. Now I would also wonder if the app crashed and left behind some dwl lock files in the working survey database folder.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Product Support
Jason.Hickey
Posts: 336
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 10 of 17 (328 Views)

Re: Survey Figure is locked

12-05-2011 09:19 AM in reply to: jmayo

John,

 

The whole survey database open/open for edit is a SQL function - I don't think the database has a "lock file" per se, but a flag in the database structure that is triggered by the program. Of course, this is an educated guess as I'm not a programmer :smileyhappy:



Jason Hickey
Premium Services Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.