AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
jkwilliams
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-31-2011
Message 1 of 6 (202 Views)

Survey Database - Atmospheric Conditions Data Import Issue

202 Views, 5 Replies
11-07-2012 05:24 PM

I am using Civil3D 2011, and we have an issue importing survey data via the Autodesk Field Book file, when it records atmospheric conditions.

The process for importing the data is as follows:

 

  1. Data is captured on the Trimble TSC3 Recorder
  2. Data is imported into the Civil3D Drawing via Trimble Link to create the FBK file
  3. Survey Database settings have the option for “Atmospheric conditions” is set to “No”

Result:

Civil3D changes distances as though the option for “Atmospheric conditions” was set to “Yes”

 

Note:

Can be worked aroudn by editing the contents of the .FBK file and removing atmospheric data, but this is NOT elegant at all.

 

Any suggestions?

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,765
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 6 (168 Views)

Re: Survey Database - Atmospheric Conditions Data Import Issue

11-08-2012 09:11 PM in reply to: jkwilliams

Possibly that's not the reason the distances are changing...

 

Be sure both Survey Database Settings and Drawing Settings are set to US Survey Foot or both to International Foot. Having this setting different in survey than in the drawing file will cause data to change. I don't know that this is your problem, but I've seen it before.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Active Contributor
jkwilliams
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-31-2011
Message 3 of 6 (165 Views)

Re: Survey Database - Atmospheric Conditions Data Import Issue

11-08-2012 09:20 PM in reply to: jkwilliams

I am working in Australia, and as such working in meters. The units setting in the AutoCAD drawing is set to meters, and the distances in the Survey database are also set to meters.

 

The software seems still to adjust for Atmospheric conditions, even when in the Survey database I set this option to "No"

 

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,765
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 4 of 6 (159 Views)

Re: Survey Database - Atmospheric Conditions Data Import Issue

11-08-2012 10:49 PM in reply to: jkwilliams

Yeah, if you're working in meters, that's definitely not the cause of your problem.

 

I can't think of what else it might be other than an error in the program. If you are on subscription, please make a bug report through tech support. Autodesk is more likely to take note if you make an official case. A post here doesn't necessarily register with those who matter.

 

As far as how to handle your immediate situation, can you tell your Trimble software not to transfer the atmospheric data to the FBK in the first place? I'm grasping for straws here.

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Product Support
SethHall
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 5 of 6 (149 Views)

Re: Survey Database - Atmospheric Conditions Data Import Issue

11-09-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: jkwilliams

We in Support do monitor the forums, and after researching this issue it seems your Reseller has logged a case for your company on your behalf and we currently have a specialist looking into it for you. If a resolution is determined we will be sure to post it here as well.

 

Have a great weekend!



Seth Hall
Product Support
GCSO - CSS - FTS
Autodesk, Inc.


Being Civil
Being Civil Twitter
Being Civil Facebook







Active Contributor
jkwilliams
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-31-2011
Message 6 of 6 (117 Views)

Re: Survey Database - Atmospheric Conditions Data Import Issue

11-11-2012 01:26 PM in reply to: jkwilliams

Thanks Tim for your contribution here. Yes I have come to the conclusion that the software is not performign as it should in this case. A case has been logged, and I guess I'll work through this with our reselelr and Autodesk now.

Regards, Jim

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.