AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 1 of 13 (369 Views)
Accepted Solution

Surfaces

369 Views, 12 Replies
10-09-2013 02:55 PM

Is there a way to control in which order the contours or breaklines are used in building a surface? Default the breklines are used in this order: 1-2-3-5-4 as the image on the right. The only way to produce the surface on the left following the order 1-2-3-4-5 is to make two different surfaces 1-2-3-4 and 4-5.  


doni49 wrote:

Peter,

 

I've looked at his image twice and I don't think that's a vertical surface.  It looks like it is steep but not vertical.  If it IS vertical, maybe he can adjust point 5 a little so that it wouldn't be.


It's not vertical. Peter just noted that C3D can't have vertical OR overlapping faces (overhangs). The OP's desired surface does have overlapping faces.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,183
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 13 (351 Views)

Re: Surfaces

10-09-2013 03:48 PM in reply to: teflon

I would recommend not making the surface on the left as a single surface. In variable you will have a common xy with different z value and Delaunay Triangulation algorithm with have a hiss fit.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delaunay_triangulation

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 13 (342 Views)

Re: Surfaces

10-09-2013 04:14 PM in reply to: teflon

Thank you for your answer!

I even tried to paste two surfaces together but they rebuild and turn to the one on the right!

But I think the order in which one picks the breaklines should matter and be there as an option!

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,183
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 13 (287 Views)

Re: Surfaces

10-10-2013 05:04 AM in reply to: teflon
I never really answered your question: Surface properties>> definition tab you can reorder the breakline data
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 5 of 13 (261 Views)

Re: Surfaces

10-10-2013 09:32 AM in reply to: teflon

I have five sets of breaklines.

Doing the way you suggested does not do it!

I moved them up and down rebuilding the surface without any effect!

Sorry!

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,183
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 13 (254 Views)

Re: Surfaces

10-10-2013 09:48 AM in reply to: teflon
I showed you how to re-order the build.

Whats in your sets I don't know. But I'll say it again - I wouldn't try to build a surface with redundant xy data. civil3d surfaces are different than a solids model it will try to triangulate from the bottom and what happens is anyones guess
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 7 of 13 (238 Views)

Re: Surfaces

10-10-2013 11:01 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

You can't make a TIN Surface in Civil 3D that looks like the image on the left no matter how you pick or order the breaklines. TIN Surfaces are not allowed to have vertical edges or overhangs.

 

You could make an AutoCAD Solid or Mesh that looks like that, but that surface can't be used with the civil engineering commands in Civil 3D.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,183
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 13 (230 Views)

Re: Surfaces

10-10-2013 11:21 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk
Thank you for the reinforcement Peter.
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 2,019
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 9 of 13 (203 Views)

Re: Surfaces

10-10-2013 01:52 PM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

peterfunkautodesk wrote:

You can't make a TIN Surface in Civil 3D that looks like the image on the left no matter how you pick or order the breaklines. TIN Surfaces are not allowed to have vertical edges or overhangs.

 

You could make an AutoCAD Solid or Mesh that looks like that, but that surface can't be used with the civil engineering commands in Civil 3D.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.


Peter,

 

I've looked at his image twice and I don't think that's a vertical surface.  It looks like it is steep but not vertical.  If it IS vertical, maybe he can adjust point 5 a little so that it wouldn't be.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,516
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 10 of 13 (198 Views)

Re: Surfaces

10-10-2013 01:55 PM in reply to: doni49

doni49 wrote:

Peter,

 

I've looked at his image twice and I don't think that's a vertical surface.  It looks like it is steep but not vertical.  If it IS vertical, maybe he can adjust point 5 a little so that it wouldn't be.


It's not vertical. Peter just noted that C3D can't have vertical OR overlapping faces (overhangs). The OP's desired surface does have overlapping faces.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.