AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 1 of 7 (424 Views)
Accepted Solution

Surfaces do not overlap error?!?!?

424 Views, 6 Replies
03-14-2014 10:28 AM

Can anyone tell me why two simple surfaces that clearly overlap in the vertical and in orbit seem fine give me an error "Surfaces do not overlap"?

 

error.PNGsmashing-laptop-with-bat.gif

Turns out, i am an idiot.

 

I copied the survey surface from the surveyors drawing and pasted into my drawing (which i have done before).

This time, it told me to rebuild the surface, so I did.

When I did so, it lost all of the data and the tin disappeared.

 

The surface that I thought was there was the same area but the previous survey!  Thank you for the help.

 

I shall mark this as solved through stupid...

 

Mentor
conormccartney3897
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎08-18-2010
Message 2 of 7 (418 Views)

Re: Surfaces do not overlap error?!?!?

03-14-2014 10:43 AM in reply to: Postmaster_G
well first off, what are trying to do that produces this error?
Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 3 of 7 (414 Views)

Re: Surfaces do not overlap error?!?!?

03-14-2014 11:06 AM in reply to: conormccartney3897

I have a design surface and a surveyed surface and I am trying to do my usual cut fill report.

 

I have never seen this error before.

 

I have created two tin surfaces that overlap and I am trying to create the tin volume surface to give me my cut/fill numbers.

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 2,019
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 4 of 7 (405 Views)

Re: Surfaces do not overlap error?!?!?

03-14-2014 11:44 AM in reply to: Postmaster_G

1) what version are you using?

2) what specific steps are you using to do this comparison?

 

I just tried it using C3D 2012 and even if I move the proposed surface so that it DOESN'T overlap the existing, I don't get errors although it reports zeros for the volumes.  Here's a screenshot and I've also attached the dwg file that I used for testing.

 

VolumeCalcsTest.png

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 5 of 7 (393 Views)

Re: Surfaces do not overlap error?!?!?

03-14-2014 12:36 PM in reply to: doni49

Turns out, i am an idiot.

 

I copied the survey surface from the surveyors drawing and pasted into my drawing (which i have done before).

This time, it told me to rebuild the surface, so I did.

When I did so, it lost all of the data and the tin disappeared.

 

The surface that I thought was there was the same area but the previous survey!  Thank you for the help.

 

I shall mark this as solved through stupid...

 

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 2,019
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 6 of 7 (387 Views)

Re: Surfaces do not overlap error?!?!?

03-14-2014 01:12 PM in reply to: Postmaster_G

Don't beat yourself up to bad -- we've all done stuff like that.

 

But thanks for letting us know it's resolved.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 7 of 7 (383 Views)

Re: Surfaces do not overlap error?!?!?

03-14-2014 01:23 PM in reply to: Postmaster_G

Indeed, and thank you for looking!!!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.