AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
mcdowellr
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎02-14-2007
Message 1 of 3 (652 Views)

Surface Rendering

652 Views, 2 Replies
09-14-2010 10:31 AM

Hi there,

 

I am trying to do a surface rendering of a subdivision with civil 3d.  I know how to look at the TIN surface and rotate it to View the 3D model of the surface.  When I view the surface I usually view it exaggerated 5 times .  This all looks good but I was wondering since all of my linework such as lot lines and water edge is drawn at a 0 elevation iif there is a way that I can paste the lines onto a surface.  So basically what I am looking for isto be able to see the lot lines changed to 3d lines and laid ontop of the surface in 3d so I can see all of the ponds and lot lines in the 3d model.

 

I think I explained this properly, I hope that someone can help

 

Thanks

Mentor
civilspace
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 2 of 3 (639 Views)

Re: Surface Rendering

09-14-2010 11:38 AM in reply to: mcdowellr

Do a search for "draping" in the C3D help.  It will utilize Map tools to do it, but you should be able to drape your data over it with a few steps.  You might need to export your surface as a DEM, then import that as a raster image for Map to work with it.

Regards,
Anthony
Valued Contributor
Feckit
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
Message 3 of 3 (617 Views)

Re: Surface Rendering

09-14-2010 03:23 PM in reply to: mcdowellr

I think the command your looking for is Grading - Elevations from Surface.

 

Normally when I do this I raise the linework an extra millimeter or two for clarity.

 

Kind Regards

Feckit

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.