AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
nathan07
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
Message 1 of 6 (204 Views)
Accepted Solution

surface not extending to all included points

204 Views, 5 Replies
06-25-2013 06:25 AM

2013 version. Long story short, I am having problems with pressure networks in my drawing so to simplify things I want to just show the top of the current watermain in my profiles because we are not doing anything with the watermain, though it needs to be shown in the profile. To do this I created some points where the watermain is and made their elevation 1.8m lover than the existing surface at those points (due to the 1.8m of cover the watermain has). I then created a surface using those points and an outer boundary surrounding the points. For some reason the surface stops at one point and doesn't continue to the rest (about 5 more points). So when I create my profile the surface stops short. The points are included in the point group the surface uses, and the outer boundary doesn't cut them out either. Not sure why the surface isn't referencing those points.

I have had this happen if the max triangle length is too small.

 

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,732
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 6 (193 Views)

Re: surface not extending to all included points

06-25-2013 07:02 AM in reply to: nathan07

While this may work, you may want to consider using Layout profiles and using the copy profile and raise / lower

commands on Profile Layout Tools.

This way points at a different elevation than EG surface wouldn't be added that may only be used to represent the water line and they won't need to be excluded from the EG surface point Group etc.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 6 (188 Views)

Re: surface not extending to all included points

06-25-2013 07:15 AM in reply to: nathan07

In the surface's properties dialog, Definition tab you will notice a list everything that defines the surface (points, breaklines, etc). This list is also a build priority list. Find your boundary in the definition and make sure it is moved all the way to the bottom of the list using the arrow buttons.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 6 (186 Views)

Re: surface not extending to all included points

06-25-2013 07:16 AM in reply to: nathan07

Also make sure that you go to prospector and find the point group heading. Highlight it and right click, choose Update to update the point groups, now go back to the surface and rebuild it if required.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Valued Contributor blt
Valued Contributor
blt
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 5 of 6 (155 Views)

Re: surface not extending to all included points

06-26-2013 04:01 PM in reply to: nathan07

I have had this happen if the max triangle length is too small.

 

Bryan Thorp
Civil 3D 2013 SP1
Dell T3500 Workstation
Intel Xeon E5630 @ 2.53 GHz
12 Gig of RAM
Nvidia Quadro FX3800
Window 7 x 64bit OS
Active Contributor
nathan07
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-14-2013
Message 6 of 6 (142 Views)

Re: surface not extending to all included points

06-27-2013 04:33 AM in reply to: blt
Looks like that did it thank you
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.