Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Surface from CAD drawing

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
droatcap
307 Views, 7 Replies

Surface from CAD drawing

Hello,
We had an aerial mapper fly the route our new pipeline is to take. I received this file back from and it had far fewer breaklines in it than I expected but contains several of the 'points'. The breaklines are 3d polys and the DTM_points as they called them are AutoCad points with z values. I am new to Civil but have stepped through the tutorials and successfully created a TIN from other drawings with similar breaklines. My question is, based on this data, is my only option to create a TIN surface and should I somehow be using the points as well to build the surface or are they merely reference? I don't expect step by step instructions but I need someone to point me in the right direction. Thanks.
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Sinc
in reply to: droatcap

You should be able to simply create a Surface in C3D, then add the breaklines and autocad points to the surface. Add the acad points as "Drawing Objects".

-- Sinc
http://www.ejsurveying.com
http://www.quuxsoft.com
Sinc
Message 3 of 8
droatcap

That helps, Thanks. Just knowing that I should be using the points and where to add them in will hopefully allow me to move forward. If you don't mind, I will add to my original question. I can see how the breaklines are used to create the surface but what is the purpose of the points. It seems they are redundant info in many cases. Are they mainly for flatter areas but if that were the case they wouldn't exist throughout the drawing. Thanks again.
Message 4 of 8
Sinc

Breaklines control how points are connected.