AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
polyrimutaka
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 1 of 10 (857 Views)

Surface border

857 Views, 9 Replies
11-15-2011 01:12 AM

Hi,

 

I created a surface from points.

Unfortunately, the border line doesn't connect all points but only external points. See attachment.

How do I correct it?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 10 (851 Views)

Re: Surface border

11-15-2011 01:46 AM in reply to: polyrimutaka

Hi,

 

>> Unfortunately, the border line doesn't connect all points but only external points

That is what a border should be! Could you upload a screenshot of a border how you would think Civil3D should connect.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
polyrimutaka
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 3 of 10 (846 Views)

Re: Surface border

11-15-2011 03:27 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi Alfred,

 

The border line should look like in attachment below.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,986
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 10 (839 Views)

Re: Surface border

11-15-2011 03:44 AM in reply to: polyrimutaka

Display the TIN lines and delete the one joining 10 - 13, then redisplay the border.

 

Unfortunately, the TIN algorithms don't necessarily know how to define the correct border especially in "concave" areas

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,187
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 10 (833 Views)

Re: Surface border

11-15-2011 04:58 AM in reply to: neilyj

Ordinarily I would say use min triangle length setting, but you jog looks like it may be the shortest not the longest. Extract the default border, modify for the jog and add to surface definition.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 10 (818 Views)

Re: Surface border

11-15-2011 06:36 AM in reply to: polyrimutaka

Hi,

 

I have created another version of outline that use all points as borders. Can you give me a description why your version is the better one? If you can describe it (without saying "in natural there is" ....  because Civil does not see anything of this) we can try to find a way to program it.

 

 

I think that you have create your own border by drawing it as polyline and assign it as border to your surface.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
polyrimutaka
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 7 of 10 (780 Views)

Re: Surface border

11-15-2011 03:44 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi Alfred,

 

The attachment Border_A.jpg I made from polyline, because I can't create it with Civil 3D, and I want to show you the real border line on site that I have checked it.

 

For others who answer my posting, I am trying your suggestions and will let you know.

 

Cheers.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 10 (770 Views)

Re: Surface border

11-15-2011 05:42 PM in reply to: polyrimutaka

Hi,

 

>> because I can't create it with Civil 3D

That's what I wanted to say: Civil can't know what is your wish, because the points don't allow to get your suggestion as first choice.

Sorry if my previous msg was not to understandable in this way.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
polyrimutaka
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 9 of 10 (766 Views)

Re: Surface border

11-15-2011 07:14 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi Alfred,

 

In my case, I only have couple points and at a glance it's easy to check whether the border line is right or wrong. I am wondering if I have thousand points. How do I check that my border line is right? Just my tthought.


alfred.neswadba wrote:

Hi,

 

>> because I can't create it with Civil 3D

That's what I wanted to say: Civil can't know what is your wish, because the points don't allow to get your suggestion as first choice.

Sorry if my previous msg was not to understandable in this way.

 

- alfred -




*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 10 (759 Views)

Re: Surface border

11-15-2011 11:25 PM in reply to: polyrimutaka

Hi,

 

sorry, I have not checked that my image I pasted in the prev. post didn't appear ;(

So here's the pasted image with another possible solution of how to find a border containing all points you gave us. And now once more the question: how should Civil know yours solution is correct and my (or some other possibilities) are not.

 

 

 

(hope the image appeas now)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.