Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suggestions for street lighting/traffic signal plans

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
el_nath
1807 Views, 2 Replies

Suggestions for street lighting/traffic signal plans

I'm curious, what is the best way to indicate street lighting/traffic signals in Civil 3D? Currently I'm using COGO points to represent the various types of work required (replace luminaire, install new pole, remove street light and foundation, &c.), however, using a symbol (and various user defined labels), does not fully help with visualizing street lighting/traffic signal pole foundation interferences with utilities, bridge structures, or even just for simple flythrough or export to lighting analysis software such as DIALux. Should I take the time to learn AutoCAD Utility Design (I'm a civil engineer, not an electrical engineer, just to be clear)? Can I utilized pipe network structures/pressure network structures for such planimetric roadway features? What solution have you come up with in Civil 3D for integrated street lighting/traffic signal plans and models?

Nathan Selles-Alvarez, P.E.
Senior Civil Engineer
2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
jmayo-EE
in reply to: el_nath

I use blocks and callouts for signaling. I use Autolux for site lighting inside AutoCAD. No import exporting. www.alux.org

John Mayo

EESignature

Message 3 of 3
el_nath
in reply to: jmayo-EE

That kinda sounds like what I thought. With multi-blocks one can model the below grade foundations as well as above grade poles and luminaires with attached ies files. The only problem I can see with that is the callouts. With COGO points, I can can create dynamic point labels to indicate pole style, arm length, luminaire type, &c. and have all of this info in a dynamic Civil 3D point table.