AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
richard.porter
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-27-2011
Message 1 of 5 (311 Views)
Accepted Solution

Subassembly Composer - OverlayMillandLevel2 modifications

311 Views, 4 Replies
10-23-2012 01:40 PM

Our Design unit carries out a lot of granular pavement overlay projects which requires us to bring the carriageway width up to standard (usually wider than existing).

 

OverlayMillandLevel2 carries out the minimum overlay depth over high spots well for us, but we need to add full depth pavement widening when the design carriageway width is wider than the existing. We could add a lane SA to OverlayMillandLevel2 but not all cross sections would need to use the Lane SA.

 

Has anybody tried to carry out a similar design? Has anybody developed a subassembly to workout fulldepth widening in addition to a minimum depth overlay over highspots?

What about using the OverlayWidenMatchSlope1 or the OverlayWidenWithSuper1 subassemblies?

 

Another option might be to add the Lane SA on the outside of the OverlayMillandLevel2. If you use an alignment to set the outside width of the OverlayMillandLevel2 and use an alignment to set the width of the widening. If the widening alignment is the same width as the alignment to set the Trim Point Offset, the Lane SA will not be created.

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 2 of 5 (294 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer - OverlayMillandLevel2 modifications

10-24-2012 04:44 AM in reply to: richard.porter

What about using the OverlayWidenMatchSlope1 or the OverlayWidenWithSuper1 subassemblies?

 

Another option might be to add the Lane SA on the outside of the OverlayMillandLevel2. If you use an alignment to set the outside width of the OverlayMillandLevel2 and use an alignment to set the width of the widening. If the widening alignment is the same width as the alignment to set the Trim Point Offset, the Lane SA will not be created.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Member
richard.porter
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-27-2011
Message 3 of 5 (276 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer - OverlayMillandLevel2 modifications

10-24-2012 01:47 PM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

I had a look at OverlayWidenMatchSlope1 and OverlayWidenWithSuper1 but they only apply the overlay depth at the Control Point, which in our case would be the Crown Point.

The attached image shows one of our most common cases. The overlay depth is 100mm over the highest point of the cross section (under the arrow).

 

I will give your suggestion of the two alignments a try, you may have sparked an idea there. Do you think if the second alignment (for the Lane SA) created a 'negative' offset the Lane SA would be ignored?

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,966
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 5 (265 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer - OverlayMillandLevel2 modifications

10-25-2012 04:07 AM in reply to: richard.porter

The Min clearance paramter doesn't take that into account?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 5 of 5 (258 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer - OverlayMillandLevel2 modifications

10-25-2012 05:46 AM in reply to: richard.porter

richard.porter wrote:
Do you think if the second alignment (for the Lane SA) created a 'negative' offset the Lane SA would be ignored?

Yes, I tried this and the Lane SA does not get used in the corridor if the second alignment creates a 'negative' offset.

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.