AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Jay.Meszar
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎03-28-2008
Message 1 of 6 (671 Views)

SubAssembly Composer Expression

671 Views, 5 Replies
02-02-2012 08:08 AM

Hello All,

 

I am trying to create an expression in SAC and am having trouble getting it to work the way I want.  The goal is to have the subassembly figure out what slope to use.  If I do not have superelevation, I want it to use the grade for the in the input.output parameters.  If I do have superelevation, I want it to use the super settings.  So far I have this

 

IF((Side=Left)AND(SE.HasLeftSO),SE.LeftSO,CType(ShoulderSlope,Double))

 

This works if I am only creating a left side.  However, I want it to decide which side super elevation settings by the input parameter side....Hope this makes sense..

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 2 of 6 (669 Views)

Re: SubAssembly Composer Expression

02-02-2012 08:11 AM in reply to: Jay.Meszar

I would do this inside of SAC instead of trying to do it in a single statement. You can add a flow chart to the flow chart if you don't want to see it. I would first test for left or right, then I would check for the super value, if that isn't found, then go to the input value. Then bring the branches together and take it from there.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
Jay.Meszar
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎03-28-2008
Message 3 of 6 (645 Views)

Re: SubAssembly Composer Expression

02-02-2012 11:39 AM in reply to: Jay.Meszar

Thanks Peter.  I was trying to avoid my subassembly from having to make that decision simply because I have found that on some machines, SAC eats the memory and will not display the flowchart completely when it gets to large.  I found a way to do what I was asking though.  The formula is below.

 

IF((Side=Left)AND(SE.HasLeftSO),SE.LeftSO, IF((Side=Right)AND(SE.HasRightSO),SE.RightSO,CType(ShoulderSlope,Double)))

Distinguished Contributor
ccookusi
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎02-28-2007
Message 4 of 6 (531 Views)

Re: SubAssembly Composer Expression

06-28-2012 10:16 AM in reply to: Jay.Meszar

Jay,

Can you post some snapshots of this.

I am trying to apply super in SAC to no avail..

 

Windows 7 Pro x64
Civil 3D 2015
Dell Precision T1650
i7 3770
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
SSD Boot
16 GB Ram
Contributor
Jay.Meszar
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎03-28-2008
Message 5 of 6 (506 Views)

Re: SubAssembly Composer Expression

06-29-2012 08:33 AM in reply to: Jay.Meszar
I sure will but will have to do this tonight. Sorry, I have been in training all week. IMAGINiT Jay Meszar | Solutions Consultant IMAGINiT Technologies 2 Commerce Drive, Bedford, NH T: 603.644.7243 | F: 603.644.5080 | C:603.396.1551 Email: jmeszar@rand.com http://imaginit.com------------------------------------------------- [Description: Description: Description: IMAGINiT--Black.png][Description: Description: cid:image004.gif@01CB5A77.07DE7A60][Description: cid:image003.jpg@01CD08D8.CDCD14A0] [Description: Description: cid:image006.jpg@01CB5A77.07DE7A60] [Description: Description: cid:image007.jpg@01CB5A77.07DE7A60] [Description: Description: cid:image001.gif@01CB754C.48CC3D60] [Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: C:\Users\dlustri\Desktop\Civil3D_2012_Certified_Professional\Civil3D_2012_Certified_Professional_RGB SMALL.gif]
Distinguished Contributor
ccookusi
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎02-28-2007
Message 6 of 6 (488 Views)

Re: SubAssembly Composer Expression

07-02-2012 05:54 AM in reply to: Jay.Meszar

Thanks.

I have another question with SAC when you get a chance...

 

Windows 7 Pro x64
Civil 3D 2015
Dell Precision T1650
i7 3770
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
SSD Boot
16 GB Ram
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.