AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
rfg018
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎11-29-2008
Message 1 of 6 (161 Views)
Accepted Solution

style, text insert

161 Views, 5 Replies
04-24-2012 11:29 AM

Can a expresion be use for text anchor point or Attachement?

 

I looking at using the ML or MR based on if the distance is Plus or Minus.

 

Thanks

Unfortunately, the only thing an expression will return is a number. You can use that number in the X and Y offset to adjust the label but you can change the attachment point using an expression. I've longed for the time that an expression would return a string or even a boolean but alas, currently it only returns a number.

Alumni
machadt
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 2 of 6 (139 Views)

Re: style, text insert

04-26-2012 04:44 PM in reply to: rfg018

Hi Robert<

I am not sure what your question is, could you please give more details on what you would like to accomplish?

Thank you,

Tatiana Machado
AEC-ENI Application Engineer
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,819
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 6 (133 Views)

Re: style, text insert

04-26-2012 09:54 PM in reply to: rfg018

Unfortunately, the only thing an expression will return is a number. You can use that number in the X and Y offset to adjust the label but you can change the attachment point using an expression. I've longed for the time that an expression would return a string or even a boolean but alas, currently it only returns a number.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Distinguished Contributor
rfg018
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎11-29-2008
Message 4 of 6 (124 Views)

Re: style, text insert

04-27-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: rfg018

I want to have a Label, with two component, I have an expression  to rotate the text (perper to mirror), and I have the text to plan read, the problem is the two componet, are in the wrong place. 

 

With plan read off, the text is in the wrong place.  My options it to have style for each options/angle, but since I'm using reference text, ever time I change the stye, the reference text goes to none.  Plus this take time.

 

I going to look at using the x y offset, but I'm not sure If I can calc the length of the text.

 

Thanks for the idea.

Alumni
machadt
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 5 of 6 (121 Views)

Re: style, text insert

04-27-2012 08:59 AM in reply to: rfg018

Maybe if you show us an image of what you would like to do, we could give you some ideas.

Tatiana Machado
AEC-ENI Application Engineer
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,819
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 6 (112 Views)

Re: style, text insert

04-27-2012 03:50 PM in reply to: rfg018

Not exactly sure what you are trying (as Tatiana suggests, perhaps an image would help us). Also, check out the "Flip Anchors with Text" option. Perhaps that will help you get what you want.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.