AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 20 (809 Views)
Accepted Solution

Stupid Question about super elevation

809 Views, 19 Replies
12-03-2013 03:18 PM

I know I can use the outsideLane super and apply the calculation the to attain SE in my model. If I wanted to have a shoulder roll over opposing SE , that is if Full super of the lanes is 4%  I'd like the shoulder to transition to -4%. How do I construct the assembly to do this? Do I have to manually profile the transition to target, or will a sub read the se calc for the shoulder and develop automatically?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

Capture.JPG

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,204
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 20 (782 Views)

Re: Stupid Question about super elevation

12-03-2013 07:10 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

That was answered during an AU class this morning, but you missed it. :-)

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 20 (752 Views)

Re: Stupid Question about super elevation

12-04-2013 04:56 AM in reply to: sboon
Ba doom bah!
Your'e in the right town :smileyhappy: Say hello for me
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 758
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 4 of 20 (731 Views)

Re: Stupid Question about super elevation

12-04-2013 08:11 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
I think if you look at the superelevation table you can change the specifics such as lane and shoulder slopes. I did that on my last project and it seemed to work pretty good.
IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 20 (729 Views)

Re: Stupid Question about super elevation

12-04-2013 08:33 AM in reply to: engrtech
Thank you, but back to the first question: How is the assembly constructed? can I add another lane segment to take the shoulder break? I not sure if I can use a shoulder sub because I am building a curbed section. And I don't see shoulder parameters din the Lane outside super
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 6 of 20 (706 Views)

Re: Stupid Question about super elevation

12-04-2013 10:35 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Like this?

 

Capture.JPG

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 20 (688 Views)

Re: Stupid Question about super elevation

12-04-2013 01:16 PM in reply to: fcernst

rollover.png

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 8 of 20 (679 Views)

Re: Stupid Question about super elevation

12-04-2013 02:06 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I'm not sure what you are trying to do now. Do you have a typical section?

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 20 (672 Views)

Re: Stupid Question about super elevation

12-04-2013 02:24 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Pardon the caveman drafting. When I get to super I wanted to break the shoulder the opposite way. I didn't know how to set it up. I used an outside lane super segment that gets is cross slope fro m the inside that get it from the super calc. For the region where I needed to rollover, I added a layout profile to target and got what I want, for now. I feel like I worked too hard and there must be a more elegant way to do it.

 

rolover2.png

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 10 of 20 (664 Views)

Re: Stupid Question about super elevation

12-04-2013 03:12 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I feel like I worked too hard and there must be a more elegant way to do it.

 


Use the Superelevation View, it's fast.


Capture.JPG

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!