AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
sparkyfeets
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 1 of 4 (229 Views)

Stringer connect rounding settings

229 Views, 3 Replies
09-26-2012 02:16 PM

Hello,

 

I have used stringer connect in the past and it seemed that my traverse shots (which went to four decimal places 0.0000) that were in my raw file were converted to a fbk file and it held the decimal places.  Now when I use it, the program rounds my shots to three decimal places (0.000) which changes the locations just slightly.  I don't think I changed any settings deliberately.  How can I get my four decimal places back?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 4 (208 Views)

Re: Stringer connect rounding settings

10-02-2012 08:30 AM in reply to: sparkyfeets

Check your precision settings in the Survey database.

 

On the Survey tab of Toolspace, right click the Survey database, select Edit Survey Database Settings.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Distinguished Contributor
sparkyfeets
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 3 of 4 (203 Views)

Re: Stringer connect rounding settings

10-02-2012 09:07 AM in reply to: tcorey

Thanks for the response.  I'm actually looking for the rounding settings for the Stringer Connect program.  I realize my question is a little out of place, this being a Civil 3D discussion group.  But I can't seem to find an answer anywhere and I know some people who frequent this discussion group also use Stringer Connect.  So I thought I'd give it a shot.

 

Thanks!

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 787
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 4 of 4 (189 Views)

Re: Stringer connect rounding settings

10-03-2012 05:45 AM in reply to: sparkyfeets

Which version are you using?

 

I'm not sure if there is a program or part there of to set the decimal places in stringer connect.

 

There is a file called numeric.dat which stores the settings used by stringer connect located either here

 

C:\ProgramData\CADApps\Stringer 2011

 

or

 

C:\ProgramData\CSS\Stringer 2012

 

or

 

C:\ProgramData\CSS\Stringer 2013

 

Open the file numeric.dat in notepad and change the number on the first line from 3 to 4. This is the number that controls the decimal places.

 

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!