AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
sparkyfeets
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 1 of 4 (236 Views)

Stringer connect rounding settings

236 Views, 3 Replies
09-26-2012 02:16 PM

Hello,

 

I have used stringer connect in the past and it seemed that my traverse shots (which went to four decimal places 0.0000) that were in my raw file were converted to a fbk file and it held the decimal places.  Now when I use it, the program rounds my shots to three decimal places (0.000) which changes the locations just slightly.  I don't think I changed any settings deliberately.  How can I get my four decimal places back?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,767
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 4 (215 Views)

Re: Stringer connect rounding settings

10-02-2012 08:30 AM in reply to: sparkyfeets

Check your precision settings in the Survey database.

 

On the Survey tab of Toolspace, right click the Survey database, select Edit Survey Database Settings.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Distinguished Contributor
sparkyfeets
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 3 of 4 (210 Views)

Re: Stringer connect rounding settings

10-02-2012 09:07 AM in reply to: tcorey

Thanks for the response.  I'm actually looking for the rounding settings for the Stringer Connect program.  I realize my question is a little out of place, this being a Civil 3D discussion group.  But I can't seem to find an answer anywhere and I know some people who frequent this discussion group also use Stringer Connect.  So I thought I'd give it a shot.

 

Thanks!

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 4 of 4 (196 Views)

Re: Stringer connect rounding settings

10-03-2012 05:45 AM in reply to: sparkyfeets

Which version are you using?

 

I'm not sure if there is a program or part there of to set the decimal places in stringer connect.

 

There is a file called numeric.dat which stores the settings used by stringer connect located either here

 

C:\ProgramData\CADApps\Stringer 2011

 

or

 

C:\ProgramData\CSS\Stringer 2012

 

or

 

C:\ProgramData\CSS\Stringer 2013

 

Open the file numeric.dat in notepad and change the number on the first line from 3 to 4. This is the number that controls the decimal places.

 

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.