AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Yakman256
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
Message 1 of 6 (230 Views)
Accepted Solution

Stretching or adjusting contours

230 Views, 5 Replies
10-28-2013 11:10 AM

We are currently STILL in the transition from LDD to Civil 3D 2013.  Is there an easy way to stretch the contours within a surface without physically editing the surface.  Right Now,  I have a couple contours that have have spikes in them from lack of survey data.  The Problem is that if I don't change the contours, I have to show steep slopes between them which I would rather not do.

 

Do I have to keep editing the surface to try and resolve this problem or is there a way I can just stretch the contours?

 

Right now I resovled the problem by coping the surface, exploding it and putting the contours on a different layer so that I can strretch them as I see fit But this is not a time effective solution.

 

Thanks in advance


Yakman256 wrote:

 

Do I have to keep editing the surface to try and resolve this problem


Yes. But it shouldn't be too difficult. I usually start by trying to swap the face of the triangle that causes the spike. Although I don't like to force edits on an existing surface with non-field data. You can try drawing a polyline at the contour elevation closing off the mouth of the spike and adding it as a breakline.

Of course if the problem is a lack of Survey data. The best solution in additional data.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 6 (225 Views)

Re: Stretching or adjusting contours

10-28-2013 11:16 AM in reply to: Yakman256
Rather than copy & explode, you can extract the contours from the surface. Select the surface, and you will see the "Extract Objects" option in the contextual ribbon tab.

As for the rest of it, I don't quite follow. Can you post a picture of what you have and what you want? Possibly the 'contour smoothing' setting would help you.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,938
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 6 (225 Views)

Re: Stretching or adjusting contours

10-28-2013 11:18 AM in reply to: Yakman256

Yakman256 wrote:

 

Do I have to keep editing the surface to try and resolve this problem


Yes. But it shouldn't be too difficult. I usually start by trying to swap the face of the triangle that causes the spike. Although I don't like to force edits on an existing surface with non-field data. You can try drawing a polyline at the contour elevation closing off the mouth of the spike and adding it as a breakline.

Of course if the problem is a lack of Survey data. The best solution in additional data.

 

Allen

Contributor
Yakman256
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
Message 4 of 6 (203 Views)

Re: Stretching or adjusting contours

10-28-2013 12:34 PM in reply to: Yakman256

Yea... extracting the contours is what I needed.   Put yourself in for a Raise.  Thanks!!!

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,261
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 5 of 6 (190 Views)

Re: Stretching or adjusting contours

10-28-2013 12:57 PM in reply to: Yakman256

FYI, C3D now supports splines as contour data. Thus you might find it easier to draw some splines where you want the contours to lie and add them to the surface as contour data. While they are not dynamic to changes in the surface, it is a relatively easy process to adjust them by disabling them in the surface definition, moving the ends to line up with the new contour location and then re-shaping them as needed.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Valued Contributor
caddie99
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎06-09-2010
Message 6 of 6 (170 Views)

Re: Stretching or adjusting contours

10-28-2013 03:36 PM in reply to: Yakman256

I just add some surface  points to nudge the contour lines wher  they look better.

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.