AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
Mr_GB
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-06-2013
Message 1 of 7 (275 Views)
Accepted Solution

Strange UCS problem on multiple machines - C3D 2013

275 Views, 6 Replies
09-06-2013 05:49 AM

Hi all,

 

Me and a colleague have become across a bit of a strange issue with Civil 3D 2013 installed on our machines.

 

Normally I can find the answer in the forums somewhere but so far I have drawn a blank.

 

Basically when either of us open some drawings, the UCS automatically changes to a side view and rotates it through 45 degrees. This doesn’t happen on all drawings. At first we thought it may have been the drawing, but when we opened it in C3D 2012 it opened as it should. This is happening on both of our machines, so I’m tempted to blame a dodgy image install. Our IT aren’t the best when it comes down to Autodesk product so I’m hoping it’s just a setting I can change somewhere.

 

Does anyone know what is going on?

 

The attached image shows what we are greeted with when we go into model space on some drawings.

Hi all,

 

Thank you for the quick replies. Jay B got me thinking about service pack and it turns out I didn't have any installed. I've just downloaded and installed SP1 & SP2 and we have a result!

 

The problem seems to have gone. I've opened a couple of drawings that caused this strange behaviour and it no longer happens.

 

Thanks again.

Mentor
john.mckenzie
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎12-19-2006
Message 2 of 7 (260 Views)

Re: Strange UCS problem on multiple machines - C3D 2013

09-06-2013 06:03 AM in reply to: Mr_GB

Here is a place to start looking. I suspect it is a setting. Not sure but start here.Capture1.PNG

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,432
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 3 of 7 (257 Views)

Re: Strange UCS problem on multiple machines - C3D 2013

09-06-2013 06:05 AM in reply to: Mr_GB

Not sure if this has been addressed in any Service Packs as I'm not using 2013 but your issue looks to be the same as in THIS related thread which has no Accepted solution but several workarounds for it.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Mentor
john.mckenzie
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎12-19-2006
Message 4 of 7 (255 Views)

Re: Strange UCS problem on multiple machines - C3D 2013

09-06-2013 06:08 AM in reply to: john.mckenzie

The reason I point here is because it does not happen in 2012 but does in 2013.

 

new setting?

 

It is not the same for every user

 

probably not built in to the deployment image then.

 

It happens in 2013 (new version for you) and in some drawings.

 

so I think it must be a new setting introduced in 2013 and stored at the drawing level.

 

I just don't know the answer to what I have described. I am throwing it out there in case someone else does.

 

Good luck.

Mentor
john.mckenzie
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎12-19-2006
Message 5 of 7 (246 Views)

Re: Strange UCS problem on multiple machines - C3D 2013

09-06-2013 06:11 AM in reply to: john.mckenzie

Here is a thread that discusses a similar issue but it occurs with named ucs. Are you using named ucs by chance?

 

I never have so I don't know how to advise.

 

Here is the link.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Named-UCS-Civil-3d-2013/td-p/3498444

Member
Mr_GB
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-06-2013
Message 6 of 7 (245 Views)

Re: Strange UCS problem on multiple machines - C3D 2013

09-06-2013 06:12 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Thanks for the quick replies.

 

This is a bit of a strange one. I'll have a read though the other thread and see what I can find.

 

It does seem to be something to do with 2013.

Member
Mr_GB
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-06-2013
Message 7 of 7 (222 Views)

Re: Strange UCS problem on multiple machines - C3D 2013

09-06-2013 06:38 AM in reply to: Mr_GB

Hi all,

 

Thank you for the quick replies. Jay B got me thinking about service pack and it turns out I didn't have any installed. I've just downloaded and installed SP1 & SP2 and we have a result!

 

The problem seems to have gone. I've opened a couple of drawings that caused this strange behaviour and it no longer happens.

 

Thanks again.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.