AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 827
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 1 of 6 (403 Views)
Accepted Solution

stop ribbon not close ribbon to make software faster

403 Views, 5 Replies
10-19-2012 12:11 PM

is there a way to stop ribbon from changing all those icons whenever you clicking on an object? because my computer at work is a bit slow and each click like that on a large civil 3d profile has a slight delay which that time adds up to reduced productivities. and i am clicking 500 times a day since there are 500 vertices to modifiy on say this alignment.

 

everytime you click on an object the ribbon changes which takes up cpu time due to running a bunch of codes to populate the icons on the ribbon. tried closing ribbon doesn't help still have the delay when mouse click on an object to show the grips. oh well maybe it's showing the grip that's using the cpu. but how can you say for sure without turning one feature off at a time to test?

Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710

Hi,

 

>> a way to stop ribbon from changing all those icons whenever you clicking on an object?

Set the sysvar RIBBONCONTEXTSELECT to 0 (>>>details<<<).

(not prefered as you miss then a lot of options)

 

- alfred -

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,600
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 6 (383 Views)

Re: stop ribbon not close ribbon to make software faster

10-19-2012 02:03 PM in reply to: wang890

Yes, there is a way, but you have to kill parts of your cui.

 

Open CUI.

 

Expand Ribbon, expand Contextual Tab States. For every entry with a plus next to it, expand and then delete the entry(s).

 

I am not recommending you do this, but this is how you would if you insist.

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,938
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 6 (338 Views)

Re: stop ribbon not close ribbon to make software faster

10-22-2012 07:11 AM in reply to: wang890

If you change the way you display the Ribbon to either Minimize to Tabs or Minimize to Panel Titles the Icons wont be displayed. So if changing that is worth not seeing the icons change that would work. I have mine set to Minimize to Panel Titles.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,071
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 6 (333 Views)

Re: stop ribbon not close ribbon to make software faster

10-22-2012 07:22 AM in reply to: wang890

Hi,

 

>> a way to stop ribbon from changing all those icons whenever you clicking on an object?

Set the sysvar RIBBONCONTEXTSELECT to 0 (>>>details<<<).

(not prefered as you miss then a lot of options)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,600
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 5 of 6 (326 Views)

Re: stop ribbon not close ribbon to make software faster

10-22-2012 08:25 AM in reply to: wang890

Thanks, Alfred. That's far easier and less dangerous that what I would have done before your post!

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 827
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 6 of 6 (302 Views)

Re: stop ribbon not close ribbon to make software faster

10-22-2012 02:31 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

hey man

 

awesome. speedup everything.

 

i just will use that on demand. after finish set it back. works for me.

 

like right now i am pulling different hatch grips and it takes 1 second to select the hatch with ribbon active changing all the icons on itself.

 

thansk a lot.

Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.