AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 1 of 4 (508 Views)

Station Offset of Storm Structure

508 Views, 3 Replies
05-18-2012 08:11 AM
Typically when we have station offset for a storm structure shown to center of structure. How do you handle station offset with a storm structure label for say back of curb.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,472
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 4 (502 Views)

Re: Station Offset of Storm Structure

05-18-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: sjg

For curb inlets, we omit the offset since the contractor knows the face of the inlet must align with the face of curb.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,122
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 4 (484 Views)

Re: Station Offset of Storm Structure

05-19-2012 11:30 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Imagine that!

 

Here's one to share: I had a road profile and the reviewing agency wanted to see the structures in the shoulder plotted on the road profile, so I showed with sta. offset. Fast forward>>> 35 years after the job was on the shelf, and another "engineer" modified the road profile to follow the offset drainage structures! Holy cow! So now they call me because my initials are on the plan.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Member
wmccormack
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
Message 4 of 4 (453 Views)

Re: Station Offset of Storm Structure

06-01-2012 11:09 AM in reply to: sjg

Steve,

 

One other option that you may be able to use is in creating an expression the subtracts 1/2 if the outer box dimension from the offset dimension and add that to a label style.  This would cause you to have a couple of label styles.

Whit
Windows 7 x 64
8 GB Ram
Core2 DUO T8100 @ 2.1GHz
ISD Ultimate 2013
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!