AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
wbrustle
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 1 of 6 (116 Views)
Accepted Solution

split points on a feature line

116 Views, 5 Replies
11-12-2013 07:25 AM

I am drawing a few feature lines within my surface and it is creating split points.....not even sure how they are created and how do I get rid of them....is there a way? I read a little about them and what I have read so far indicates that it is a point where two feature lines cross? I don't have another feature line created anywhere near this one.

If overlaps are your problem. This might be helpful.

 

AeccFindSiteOverlaps

Start with this command, which will check for overlapping alignments, feature lines, and lot lines in a Site. A dialog box will be displayed, prompting you to select the Site to check. This command will mark any overlapping locations found with AutoCAD points, placed on the layer _OVERLAPPING_SEGMENT_LOCATIONS.

Note: To see the AutoCAD points better, you can use the DDPTYPE command to change the visibility settings if necessary, which will force a Regen. However, in cases with unstable Gradings or behavior a Regen may result in a crash.

 

Allen Jessup

Distinguished Mentor
castled071049
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎11-15-2005
Message 2 of 6 (95 Views)

Re: split points on a feature line

11-12-2013 08:49 AM in reply to: wbrustle

What do you mean by "split points"? Maybe a screen shot or something to clarify?

 

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 3 of 6 (85 Views)

Re: split points on a feature line

11-12-2013 09:47 AM in reply to: wbrustle
Is there a grading crossing the feature line?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,521
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 6 (81 Views)

Re: split points on a feature line

11-12-2013 10:18 AM in reply to: wbrustle

If the featurelines cross any other featurelines, alignments, or parcels in the same Site, you will get these uneditable points.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 6 (74 Views)

Re: split points on a feature line

11-12-2013 10:23 AM in reply to: wbrustle

If overlaps are your problem. This might be helpful.

 

AeccFindSiteOverlaps

Start with this command, which will check for overlapping alignments, feature lines, and lot lines in a Site. A dialog box will be displayed, prompting you to select the Site to check. This command will mark any overlapping locations found with AutoCAD points, placed on the layer _OVERLAPPING_SEGMENT_LOCATIONS.

Note: To see the AutoCAD points better, you can use the DDPTYPE command to change the visibility settings if necessary, which will force a Regen. However, in cases with unstable Gradings or behavior a Regen may result in a crash.

 

Allen Jessup

Mentor
wbrustle
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 6 of 6 (62 Views)

Re: split points on a feature line

11-12-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

yes.....I believe these points along my feature line may have crossed the alignment I was using in the same site, which most likely caused the problem...thanks so much...I will watch that from now on.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.