AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
manateejim
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎09-05-2008
Message 1 of 9 (223 Views)

Specific Questions for AutoDesk (to please the powers that be)

223 Views, 8 Replies
07-27-2011 06:24 AM

Our office has a mix of 2010 civil and civil 3d if we upgrade (we are all on subscription)

 

1. will we all upgrade to 2011 civil 3d?  we have heard that there is no more civil.

 

2. was civil 3d optimized memory wise to use memory more efficiently on a windows xp 3 gig ram situation.

 

3. what are the specifications for civil 3d 2011?  I can't find them online, I only get 2012.

 

4.  I know we are on 2012 release but since I work for government I do not see in the forseable future us moving to windows 7 64 bit to use civil 3d 2012.  Can we still upgrade to civil 3d 2011 since we are on subscription.

 

Jim

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 710
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 2 of 9 (214 Views)

Re: Specific Questions for AutoDesk (to please the powers that be)

07-27-2011 07:17 AM in reply to: manateejim

Jim,

 

1. You will upgrade all to Civil 3D

2. 2011 was optimized to work better on xp 32. Civil 3D 2012 works even better on xp 32, but they both are still limited by the OS.

3. The machine spec for the XP 32 is about the same / exactly the same as 2012

4. You can upgrade to 2011, but I would go to 2012. While we strongly recommend Windows 7 x64, both 2011 and 2012 have 32 bit versions.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
manateejim
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎09-05-2008
Message 3 of 9 (189 Views)

Re: Specific Questions for AutoDesk (to please the powers that be)

07-27-2011 09:29 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Peter I really appriciate you answering my questions.  I do have one more Issue.  When we Upgraded to Windows XP SP3, we were unable to use the three gig switch.  For some reason it worked great on SP2 but not sp3.  Our IT Dept. thinks it is the switch.  Is this an issue Autodesk is aware of?

 

Again thank you very much for your responses :smileyvery-happy:

 

-Jim

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 710
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 4 of 9 (183 Views)

Re: Specific Questions for AutoDesk (to please the powers that be)

07-27-2011 09:50 AM in reply to: manateejim

You're talking WIndows XP SP3 that was released May 6, 2008?

 

Make sure that you have all the updates for both XP and Civil 3D is the first thing. The other thing is that switch doesn't just "give" you more RAM, it compresses the OS from 2 gig down to 1 gig and that is what frees up the extra RAM. However this compression can cause "issues" for things like video drivers and other programs that expect to find their instruction sets as fixed locations in that second gig of RAM. When the OS is smashed down into 1 gig those fixed locations are lost.

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
manateejim
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎09-05-2008
Message 5 of 9 (163 Views)

Re: Specific Questions for AutoDesk (to please the powers that be)

07-27-2011 01:44 PM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Pete I have one more monkey wrench that it was thrown in the mix. IT just loves the antiquated windows xp so the OS Windows XP 64 bit was mentioned.  I have read that it exists so will civil 3d 2011 or 12 64bit be able to use this?  And if so will we get the same benefit of using more than just the normal 3 gigs of ram or did autodesk work towards windows 7 compatability?  Are these two OS's  sort of the same thing?

 

Sorry I am feeling like such a pain

 

-Jim

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 6 of 9 (149 Views)

Re: Specific Questions for AutoDesk (to please the powers that be)

07-27-2011 02:35 PM in reply to: manateejim

With XP x64, you'll get the benefit of having a 64-bit OS, which will help you avoid out-of-memory issues and allow you to install more RAM, but that's about it.  It seems incredible that your IT group would even consider XP x64.  That's the most troublesome choice possible.  It's the most difficult to find drivers for, and you still have all the XP problems.

 

Why don't they just switch to Win7?  IT on Win7 is a breeze compared to XP.  Or are they afraid that Win7 works so much better that a lot of them will be out of a job if they don't stay on XP?  :smileywink:

Sinc
Valued Contributor
manateejim
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎09-05-2008
Message 7 of 9 (137 Views)

Re: Specific Questions for AutoDesk (to please the powers that be)

07-27-2011 04:56 PM in reply to: Sinc

Unfortunatly there are only about 15 out of 3000 people in our county that use anything that even looks like cad.  Why would a secretary, planner, need a wiz bang computer tha can runs civil 3d?   E-mail work fine on a pentium 2 windows 95 machine. You know government one size or OS fits all.   Plus our IT are chickens.   ha ha   

 

Thanks for the Laugh Sinc :smileyhappy:

 

-Jim

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 710
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 8 of 9 (129 Views)

Re: Specific Questions for AutoDesk (to please the powers that be)

07-27-2011 08:30 PM in reply to: manateejim

If there are only 15 of you out of 3000 that would use Windows 7 x64 is there any chance that IT would either install it for you or allow you to manage your own systems? The reason that we keep pushing Windows 7 x64 is because it is that much better than XP x32.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
manateejim
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎09-05-2008
Message 9 of 9 (113 Views)

Re: Specific Questions for AutoDesk (to please the powers that be)

07-28-2011 04:00 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

A lot of Governments run legacy hard and software that is not compatible with new stuff.  The problem they will have as Sinc pointed out is going to be the availability of any parts with drivers that are compatible with XP anything in a few years.  I have pointed this out too them but there are so many xp people who need a place to hide as the world moves on around them.  This is the reason I am pushing so hard to get the newer software is the fact that I don't want Me for one or my co workers to get cut and then have to go out in to the world again 2 3 or 4 years behind the curve on software that we need to make our livelihoods.  I guess I might just shut up, get back in line, take what they give me, and make the best of it.  I actually did forget that there was a 64 bit xp but no one was able too use it since there were no 64 bit machines at the time.

 

IT people if you are reading this please think of others careers not just your own!!!

 

Thanks Pete and Sinc  you have both opened my eyes to potential problems and solutions.

 

Cheers

 

-Jim

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.