AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
mfernandes
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎08-21-2007
Message 1 of 4 (135 Views)

spanning pipes design

135 Views, 3 Replies
02-18-2014 08:29 PM

workflow for spanning pipes

I have two manholes with null structure between.

 

MH1==================null==================null===================MH2

 

1. would like to hold inverts at MH1 and MH2 and let C3D calculate the slope.

2. would like to hold invert at MH1 and set the slope and let C3D calculate and set the invert through to MH2

3. would like to hold invert at MH2 and set the slope and let C3D calculate and set the invert through to MH1

 

any ideas?

 

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,941
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 4 (98 Views)

Re: spanning pipes design

02-20-2014 07:22 AM in reply to: mfernandes

I have found over the years that it is MUCH easier to have an alignment for a sewer line.  Using  a Final Grade profile along your pipe invert line makes pipes so much easier.  You can control the grade and elevations using the tools for managing profiles.  When you get things (your profile) like you want, just drag your pipes into place.

 

Bill

 

 

Mentor
mfernandes
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎08-21-2007
Message 3 of 4 (68 Views)

Re: spanning pipes design

03-11-2014 12:16 PM in reply to: wfberry

That is great in the prelim stages or just for drafting the design. But after the initial design, when changes are required we need some robust tools.

 

The other issue is as Null structures are a necessary evil.

They have to exist to tie your network together. How do you set them up so that there is no invert drop between pipes?

 

Mentor
mikepo
Posts: 257
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 4 of 4 (41 Views)

Re: spanning pipes design

05-09-2014 10:53 AM in reply to: mfernandes

In Exchange Apps store there is an app called Slope across Pipes. It's the best $25 we've ever spent. Makes designing gravity pipe networks a breeze.

Mike Porter
www.ppeng.com
Civil3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional - 64-bit
HP Z230
Xeon 3.20Ghz
24GB of RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.