AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
jalneal
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 1 of 3 (277 Views)

SOLVED! Painful Corridor performance issue workaround - help find the culprit

277 Views, 2 Replies
08-08-2012 03:27 PM

Ok, so I'm a heavy heavy corridor user for all sorts of unorthodox approaches, and end up with lots of targets, etc.  It seems that somewhere between conceptual design and final design, the grading files with these objects have ALWAYS hit a wall:  saves slow to minutes, opening files goes from seconds to 3-4 minutes, and changes to the alignments, assemblies, and profiles go from 1-2 seconds to 1 minute per change.  

 

Well, I was done after struggling with a deadline yesterday - was determined to figure it out by isolating the assembly type that was causing the problem (I assumed some sort of targeting was causing the problem.)  So I went into each and every corridor and turned off all the regions, profiles, and alignments.  I then tried making edits and they were a flyin'.  I expected I'd turn it on one corridor at a time to find the culprit.  What actually happened is that I got through turning them all back on and it was still snappy and responsive!  


Now, I think the culprit may be when I'm blowing apart and replacing assembly parts, copying assemblies and making what if scenarios once corridors are built.  Doing this, I often erase pieces that the corridor has stored target data, etc. for and I'm guessing that somehow turning off and back on the region is purging junk from the corridor.  I may be wrong, but in the latter part of DD all the corridors are built and I'm usually doing some heavy manipulation of the assemblies. 

 

My hope is that some of you find this a fix to your issue, and that we can continue to monitor where it is happening and figure out the actions that trigger the problem.  Of course, ideally the C3D team at Autodesk could take the info and find a quick hotfix for it.    Since there are major changes to the corridors in C3D 2013, I'm curious if this problem is fixed in 2013 - haven't had a chance to try it there yet. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alan Neal, P.E.
Autodesk Infrastructure Suite Premium 2012/2013
Windows 7, x64
Xeon E31225 w/ Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,054
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 3 (272 Views)

Re: SOLVED! Painful Corridor performance issue workaround - help find the culpr

08-08-2012 04:48 PM in reply to: jalneal

When you say performance gets better if the region are hidden makes me wonder, since you said heavy heavy..., could your codeset styles be dragging you down?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Contributor
jalneal
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 3 of 3 (267 Views)

Re: SOLVED! Painful Corridor performance issue workaround - help find the culpr

08-08-2012 04:58 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I had switched to a very simple codeset.  I did notice that a lot of the feature lines reset back to defaults (some had been manually changed) when the regions were turned off and back on.  I had null display codesets on most. After turning all off and back on, it didn't matter how busy the code sets were, it was still snappy.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alan Neal, P.E.
Autodesk Infrastructure Suite Premium 2012/2013
Windows 7, x64
Xeon E31225 w/ Quadro 600
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.