AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,601
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 1 of 16 (566 Views)

Solid State Drive

566 Views, 15 Replies
07-25-2012 08:32 AM

Hello all,

 

I recently obtainined a new laptop with a Solid State Drive and, holy smokes, it's seems at least twice as fast as another laptop with comparable specs like RAM and processor. I used a stopwatch. It was incredible.

 

Things like opening the program, opening drawings and re-loading Xref's are all way way way faster than without the SSD.

 

To those of you who have added SSD, are you seeing the same boost? This appears to be an easy way for Civil 3D users to increase speed tremendously, without purchasing a whole new system.

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,388
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 16 (565 Views)

Re: Solid State Drive

07-25-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: tcorey

I concur, Tim. Although I have just a 128gb SSD so I use it for the OS and Programs only. All data, including my Users and Temp folders, is on a 7200RPM SATA2 drive. It's still far faster than my desktop which has similar specs, but no SSD.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 486
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 3 of 16 (558 Views)

Re: Solid State Drive

07-25-2012 10:08 AM in reply to: tcorey

I put a SSD into my 2007 model workstation and bumped the memory to 12 gb (from 4) and it breathed new life into it.  Highly recommend SSD in new machines and as an upgrade.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,942
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 16 (554 Views)

Re: Solid State Drive

07-25-2012 10:21 AM in reply to: TerryDotson

Terry,

 

Are you using it for OS and programs, Data or Both?

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,942
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 16 (548 Views)

Re: Solid State Drive

07-25-2012 10:30 AM in reply to: tcorey

Now I'm interested. What IOPS does everyone's SSD have?

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,601
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 6 of 16 (539 Views)

Re: Solid State Drive

07-25-2012 10:59 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

IOPS?

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,942
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 16 (538 Views)

Re: Solid State Drive

07-25-2012 11:05 AM in reply to: tcorey

tcorey wrote:

IOPS?


IOPS - In-out Operations Per Second. It looks like the equivalent of Write Speed for a hard disk. I found 2 1TB SSDs on my favorite hardware site. One sold for $320 and had an IOPS of 28,000. The second one sold for $2,200± and had an IOPS of 120,000. So, judging by price, I guess it matters.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,442
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 16 (508 Views)

Re: Solid State Drive

07-25-2012 01:07 PM in reply to: tcorey

tcorey wrote:

 

To those of you who have added SSD, are you seeing the same boost?

 


I really don't see a noticeable boost. I think it _is_ faster, but not to the point where if you gave me an identical machine except with the old SATA drives, that I would notice a difference. 

 

I can say this because we do have several machines here identically configured except that some have SATA drives and others have an SSD primary drive. (Mine is one of the latter)

 

The problem we have --- is that we adopted this pretty early and only got 75GB primary SSD's. So after the O/S, MS Office, and a couple of versions of C3D, the HHD is about full. We had to reduce the swap size on the SSD drive and create a larger one on the 2nd drive (300GB SATA). I know this defeats the purpose of having all the swap space on the SSD, but it is what it is right now. 

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,601
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 9 of 16 (487 Views)

Re: Solid State Drive

07-25-2012 10:20 PM in reply to: rkmcswain
What I take away from this thread is if you're buying a new system and you want to know where spending money will provide the biggest speed increases, put in an SSD. I haven't done comprehensive tests, but I would wager a small sum (like a refreshement at AU) that having an SSD would give more speed increase over a hard drive than going to an i7 processor over i5 or choosing 32gb RAM over 16.
Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 742
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 10 of 16 (472 Views)

Re: Solid State Drive

07-26-2012 05:15 AM in reply to: tcorey

I have a 256GB SSD as my primary drive. It has Win7-64bit and all my programs.  I have a 2nd 600gb 10k rpm HDD that has all my drawings.  My machine is smoking fast compared to my home rig.  C3D starts up in about 5 seconds for me and whole machine boots up in around 20 seconds.

 

Having a SSD as your primary drive where C3D is installed is a huge boost in performance for a small price.  Oh, and make sure you get SATA3 as long as your motherboard supports it.

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.