AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 31 of 60 (934 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-07-2013 06:24 AM in reply to: Hammer.john.j

when i launch civil 3d as autocad, i get 3,700 NAMES NOT FOUND, and as predicted without civil 3d cad launches fastER.... still not impressed.

 

we even have solid state hard drives, and i noticed a HUGE improvement with the solid state hard drive over the spinner drives....

 

interesting at a minimum, i put in a request with support.

John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Distinguished Contributor
brent.morris
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎06-09-2008
Message 32 of 60 (926 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-07-2013 08:58 AM in reply to: Hammer.john.j

Thanks for running the test.

I'm finding out that this problem is not just me and that other people are seeing the same thing in Process Monitor.

 

I found this video about Procees Monitor explaining a little bit about Name Not Found and it's 53 min into the video.

http://channel9.msdn.com/Events/TechEd/NorthAmerica/2010/WCL314

 

I'm finding that other users have been complaining about the performace back in 2011 using Win 7 http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2010-2011-2012-DWG/AutoCAD-2011-Running-Extremely-Slow/td-p/28...

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2010-2011-2012-DWG/AutoCAD-2012-and-Windows-7/td-p/3003892

 

Autodesk has also been putting out solutions to improve performance with Windows 7

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18818398&linkID=9240617

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=14898223&linkID=9240617

 

So in my opinion there is something within acad.exe and Windows 7 that is making things slower than they use to be and all I'm trying to do is prove whether there is actually an problem with the program, my computer, server, or the network.  I have done almost everything that I can find to improve Autocad performance on my computer, server, and networking and my research lead me to using this Process Monitor and in my opinion I think Autodesk should take a serious look at this because I think they could improve the performance of Autocad if it wasn't time looking for files in multiple locations for every command you do in Autocad.

To me it doesn't make sense that when I do a move command in Autocad it's looking for a *.cuix menu file.

So you can imagine a full days work in Autocad that every single command you do it looks for file in my opinion it shouldn't be even looking for and looking the files in multiple locations wasting time.

 

So if we can get enough users to convience Autodesk to at least take a look at this problem and see if they can improve the code to improve the performance for everybody.

I know it's asking a lot but I have to try.

 

Thanks

Brent Morris

 

Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 33 of 60 (915 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-07-2013 10:12 AM in reply to: brent.morris

Hear, hear!

 

I have experience intermitant slowness with Win7 & C3D 2012 (and 2010). I can't reproduce it consistently. Its not always the first time I use a command, though that does happen. Sometimes I select multiple objects (half a dozen points, not thousands), right click and get a blue wheel for 30 seconds. Over the course of a workday it adds up and mostly results in frustration. Its like if you were a carpenter and every five to ten minutes a little gnome came and grabbed your hammer out of your hand just as you were swinging at a nail, taunted you with it for 30 seconds and then gave it back.

 

::shakes fist at invisible CAD gnomes::

 

I'm trying to eliminate/rule out any other bottlenecks on my machine. I'm on 2012 SP2; I haven't tried SP3 yet.


Brent, have you tried the latest service packs?

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)
Distinguished Contributor
brent.morris
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎06-09-2008
Message 34 of 60 (906 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-07-2013 11:39 AM in reply to: IanMcClain

That was good about the gnome, it gave me a good laugh for the day.

 

I just download and installed SP3 for Civil 3D 2012 and I haven't noticed any speed improvements yet but early to tell.

I'm going to install on some other users and we will see if it helps them.

 

This still didn't change anything as far as what the Process Monitor captures of files it can't find.

 

I'm curious about your setup.

  1. Are you working on a network and if so on a LAN or WAN
  2. Is your server a Windows server 2008 R2
  3. Do you have custom search paths for fonts, pc3, ctb, etc... on the network.
  4. Is the file you were working on using xrefs and/or datashortcuts
Distinguished Contributor
rdlongbow
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 35 of 60 (878 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-08-2013 09:56 AM in reply to: brent.morris

C3D 2012

 

I always knew that C3D was spending a lot of time on the network, just didn't know how much!

 

This year, we got our wan upgraded from 9 mb to 15 mb, and new switches at the main office. The server at the main office was also upgraded. I'm not sure what else was done, but C3D now works mostly like it should. So, even though C3D is network happy, it can work well if you have a good network and server.

 

Another thing: A year ago, I determined that by copying the company fonts and ctb files to my local drive sped up the mtext editor and plot dialog immensly. Getting rid of those network paths is just another piece of the puzzle towards good C3D performance.

Distinguished Contributor
brent.morris
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎06-09-2008
Message 36 of 60 (842 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-10-2013 07:06 AM in reply to: rdlongbow

I have talked to more users and really tried to figure out what when users complain about Civil 3D being slow so that I can determine if it's our network, server, workstation, or Civil 3D and from what I can tell users complain about Civil 3D when they are working on a file that has 2 or more xrefs, using datashortcuts, and/or when they use Sheet Set Manager. When users are just working on a single file they say it works great but as soon as they work on any big projects with multiple people and they start xrefing multiple files is when they really notice the difference.

So in my opinion our network, server, and workstations are working just fine, the problem is that Civil 3D just can't handle files with multiple xrefs especially with survey xrefs with a lot of points for effieciently.

 

I have made almost every possible tweaks to our network, server, workstations, and having all of our cadd standards on the local drive of the workstations and users still complain only when they work on these big projects.

So for now I have told them that we will just have to figure out how to either eliminate a lot of xrefs and/or split files into smaller files if they are working on a big project.

 

I'm still going to press Autodesk to still look at the problem with how acad.exe looks for files in multilple places and wastes cpu and network resources when it doesn't need to.

 

Thanks everybody for your comments and good luck

Brent Morris

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,646
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 37 of 60 (834 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-10-2013 02:00 PM in reply to: brent.morris

brent.morris wrote:

... and from what I can tell users complain about Civil 3D when they are working on a file that has 2 or more xrefs, ...


Brent, do you have XLOADCTL set to 3? This will allow demand loading of Xref's and will make local copies of network-based Xref's. This should cut down network file access. I would be interested to know if this reduces the number of file access notations Process Monitor is logging

 

Also, do you have INDEXCTL set to 3 inside each Xref drawing file? This will create layer and spatial indices atop each xref drawing, allowing AutoCAD to only load into memory those objects that are on thawed Xref layers and within the Xclip boundary.

 

By the way, thanks for all the detailed information you have posted in this thread. This will be of help to many people.

 

Tim

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Distinguished Contributor
brent.morris
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎06-09-2008
Message 38 of 60 (826 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-10-2013 02:21 PM in reply to: tcorey

I have XLOADCTL set to 2, I think you meant to say 2 because there is no 3, so I think we are on the same page there.

 

I forgot about INDEXCTL, I have ours set to 0, I will try it at 3 and see if that helps.

 

Thanks for you help.

Have a good weekend.

 

Brent

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,646
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 39 of 60 (825 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-10-2013 02:27 PM in reply to: brent.morris

Yes, I mean 2 on Xloadctl.

 

I will be interested if indexing helps. This is a thread I will definitely be following. You and another poster are right, this is a subject of great interest to many companies. I hope it doesn't come down to having to keep shared files locally. What a pain in the rear that can be. Small companies, not a big deal. Big companies, big deal.

 

Keep up the good work and thanks again for your efforts to enlighten us all.

 

Tim

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 40 of 60 (790 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-13-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: tcorey

xload is like pay me now or pay me later.... one way or the other you gotta pay to play lol.

 

we've tried both here and neither one is ideal.

John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.